How to Pass the Georgia Permit Test
The GDL also known as the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act has been designed to help you become comfortable at the wheel over time and ensures that you understand the rules of the road before you can earn your unrestricted driving privileges.
In the state of Georgia, the GDL process consists of obtaining:
- A Learner’s Permit.
- An Intermediate License.
- A Full (Class C) License.
In this guide, we walk you through the licensing process including how to pass the Georgia permit test so you can go on to receive your full, unrestricted license.
Step I: The Georgia Learner’s Permit
When you are 15 years old, you are eligible to apply for your learner’s permit, also known as a Class CP License. The permit will allow you to practice driving as long as you have a licensed driver age 21 or above in the seat next to you.
To receive your permit, you must pass a knowledge test (also known as the permit test) that will show how well you know the rules of the road as well as different traffic signs and signals. You also must be enrolled in school. If you don’t currently attend school, you will need to show your diploma, a GED, or proof of home schooling or college enrollment.
Make Time to Study
Study as often as you can. We offer a free copy of the Georgia Driver’s Manual, and you can get a physical copy at your local Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) office.
Take Advantage of Practice Exams
Taking practice exams is another wonderful way to study. Our Georgia practice permit test includes much of the same material from the actual test and will increase your chances of doing well.
Check That You Have the Required Materials and Visit Your Local DDS Office
Before you leave to do your testing, make sure you bring:
- A signed and notarized Certificate of Attendance from your school (or proof of alternative option).
- A certified birth certificate, immigration document or other acceptable proof of identification.
- Two proofs of residency such as a bank statement or employment verification.
- Your Social Security number.
- $10 for testing fees.
- Your parent or guardian, along with his or her state-issued license or ID.
Do Your Testing
Try to relax as you take your test. This is the moment your hard work and dedicated preparation will pay off. After you pass your written exam, you will need to take a vision test to make sure you are capable of safely driving.
Begin Your Practice
While holding your permit, you must do 40 hours of practice driving, with 10 of those hours taking place at night. You also must take a state-approved driver’s education course, which will satisfy those practice requirements. It is required that you enroll in an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP). Most Georgia students complete this class in the ninth grade, but if you didn’t, you will need to look into taking it before you can receive your Intermediate or Full License.
Step II: The Georgia Intermediate License
In the state of Georgia, you don’t necessarily have to apply for your Intermediate License. If you apply for your permit when you are 16 or 17, you can simply wait until you are 18 and then apply for a full license. However, if you choose this option, you will still need to take the behind-the-wheel test.
If you choose to apply for your Intermediate License, visit your local DDS office and bring along:
- Your Social Security number.
- Your learner’s permit.
- A signed and notarized Certificate of Attendance (or proof of alternative option).
- Your ADAP card to show that you completed your class.
- Proof that you completed your state-approved driver’s education course and 40 hours of practice driving.
- $10 in testing and license fees.
- Your parent or guardian.
- A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test (You cannot use a rental car).
At this point, you will be given a behind-the-wheel test and another vision test. When you pass, you will be given your Intermediate License, which comes with a few restrictions:
- You may only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. to midnight.
- During the first six months, you may only drive with passengers who are immediate family.
- During the second six months, you may only drive with one passenger under the age of 21 who isn’t family.
Step III: The Full (Class C) Georgia Driver’s License
When you are 18 years old and have held your Intermediate License for a year and one day, you can apply for your full (Class C) license. Visit the DDS office and bring along:
- Your Intermediate License.
- Your proofs of identity and residency (the same items you brought before).
- $32 in license fees.
Congratulations! You will now trade in your Intermediate License and become a fully licensed driver.
Note: If you are 18 years old and chose to skip the Intermediate License stage, you will be required to take your behind-the-wheel and vision tests at this time.
If you are under 18, the DDS will suspend your license if you drop out of school, get expelled or miss more than 10 consecutive days without an excuse. Your license will also be at risk if you get into trouble for drugs, drinking, fighting or other serious crimes.
If you fail the permit test or the behind-the-wheel test once, you will be allowed to retake them the next day. However, if you fail twice, you will have to wait a week. If you fail three times, you must wait 30 days before testing again.