How to Pass the Louisiana Permit Test

louisiana-road-signAre you ready for the Louisiana permit test? Before you can pass the permit test and receive your learner’s permit, it’s important to understand the state’s Graduated License Program (GDL). This multi-step process exists to help you develop the knowledge and skills needed to be a safe driver over an extended period of time.

Use this step-by-step guide to begin preparing yourself for the permit test and get an understanding of the steps required to ultimately earn your full Class E driver’s license.

In the state of Louisiana, the GDL process has three stages:

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Intermediate License
  • Full (Class E) License

Step I: The Louisiana Learner’s Permit

Before you can apply for your Learner’s Permit in Louisiana, you must be at least 15 years old and have completed a state-approved driver’s education course. During this course, you will do 30 hours of classroom training and eight hours of behind-the-wheel training. You also must be enrolled in school.

When you have completed these requirements, you will need to take a written knowledge test (also known as the permit test) to demonstrate an understanding of traffic laws, signs and signals.

Study Carefully to Ensure Success

You will not likely do well on the test if you don’t prepare ahead of time. Take advantage of our free copy of the Louisiana Driver’s Handbook, or ask for a hard copy at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).

Don’t Skip Practice Exams

Practice exams are a wonderful resource that all young drivers should be aware of. Our Louisiana practice permit test can prepare you for the real test by helping you go over the most important topics ahead of time.

Visit Your Local OMV Office and do Your Testing

Before you leave to do your testing, make sure you have:

  • Your certified birth certificate and a secondary proof of identity.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Your parent or guardian and his or her driver’s license.
  • A completed Certification of Required Attendance form to show you are in school.
  • Proof that you successfully completed your driver’s education course.
  • Up to $25.50 in cash for fees.

At this point, you will be given the permit test. Relax, breathe deeply and try to keep your wits about you. Now is the time your hard work and preparation will pay off.

When you pass, you will be given a vision test. Then, you will be issued your permit.

It’s Time to Get a Little Behind the Wheel Practice

The permit will allow you to build your driving skills while under the supervision of a licensed driver age 21 or above. You can also be supervised by a sibling as long as he or she is 18 years old and carries a valid driver’s license.

While holding your permit, you must complete at least 35 hours of daytime practice driving and 15 hours of nighttime driving.

Step II: The Louisiana Intermediate License

To apply for your Intermediate License, you must be 16 years old and have held your Learner’s Permit for at least 180 days. You also must have completed your required practice hours.

When you are ready, visit the local OMV office and bring along:

  • Signed proof that you completed your practice hours.
  • $13 in fees

When you receive your Intermediate License, you must follow certain limitations. Unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or above or a sibling age 18 or above, you may not:

  • Drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • Drive between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m. with any passengers under the age of 21 who are not family members.

Step III: The Louisiana Driver’s License

As long as you complete all the requirements for each step of the GDL process, you can apply to become an unrestricted driver at age 17. At this point, you will be given a behind-the-wheel driving test. You don’t need an appointment for this test, but the OMV recommends arriving between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. Driving tests are not administered before 1 p.m.

Visit the OMV and take along:

  • A registered and insured vehicle to use for the driving test.
  • A completed Certification of Required Attendance form to show you are in school.
  • Your parent or legal guardian.
  • Proof of identity, Louisiana residency and legal presence in the United States.
  • Your Social Security card and birth certificate.
  • Signed proof that you completed your driver’s education course and practice hours.
  • Up to $25.50 in cash for testing fees.

Upon passing your driving test and paying your fees, you will be given your full (Class E) license. Congratulations! You can now enjoy unrestricted driving privileges.

Additional Information

You and all of your passengers are required to wear a seat belt at all times while driving in the state of Louisiana.

If you need to, you can use your high-school yearbook as one proof of identification.