How to Pass the Maine Permit Test
Are you ready to pass the Maine permit test? The state of Maine uses a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) to help young and inexperienced drivers gain skills slowly over time. This three-stage process has been shown to reduce the number of traffic accidents that occur due to lack of driving experience.
In the state of Maine, the GDL program has three distinct phases:
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate License
- Full (Class C) License
This page will help you understand the GDL program and learn how to pass the Maine permit test, earn your Intermediate License and go on to obtain your Full License.
Step I: The Maine Learner’s Permit
When you are 15 years old, you can get your Learner’s Permit in the state of Maine. However, you first must have completed an approved driver’s education class. You also must pass a written exam (or permit test) that demonstrates your knowledge of traffic rules, signs and signals.
Study is Essential
At first, you may feel overwhelmed at all of the information you must learn, but if you dedicate time for study, you will be sure to do well. Don’t forget to make use of our free copy of the Maine Driver’s Handbook, which contains vital information about driving in Maine.
Take Advantage of Practice Exams
Practice exams are an excellent resource. Our Maine practice permit test covers many of the same topics as the actual test, and after completing it, you should have a better idea of how prepared you are.
Visit Your Local Bureau of Motor Vehicles Office and do Your Testing
In the state of Maine, the Secretary of State handles driver’s licenses through the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). When you are ready to take your permit test, visit your local BMV office, bringing along:
- Proof of identity and legal presence in the United States, such as your birth certificate or U.S. passport.
- Your Social Security number.
- Your parent or guardian to sign your application.
- $10 for testing fees.
- Proof that you successfully finished your driver’s education class.
Now, you will complete the permit test. It is multiple choice, so if you get stuck, try to figure out the right answer by using a process of elimination. Above all, relax and try to stay calm. If you studied hard and took your practice exams, you should easily pass. When you do, you will also be given a vision test to ensure your eyesight is adequate for safe driving. If you wear corrective lenses or contacts, make sure you have them with you.
Begin Your Driving Practice
While holding your permit, you must practice driving for 60 daytime hours and 10 nighttime hours under the supervision of a licensed driver age 20 or older. That driver must have held his or her license for at least two years.
Step II: The Maine Intermediate License
At age 16, you can apply for your Intermediate License as long as you have completed your required practice hours. You will need to pass a behind-the-wheel road test, which will assess your ability to control your vehicle and follow traffic law at all times.
Visit your local BMV office and bring along:
- Your Learner’s Permit.
- Identification documents.
- Proof that you completed your required practice hours.
- A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.
- Your parent or guardian.
- $30 for license fees.
As with the written exam, you must relax and do your best on the road test. When you pass, you will receive your Intermediate License, which will allow you to drive with certain restrictions:
- Unless accompanied by a licensed driver, you may not drive between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m.
- You may not use a cell phone while driving.
- Aside from family members, you may not drive with passengers for the first 270 days.
Step III: The Maine (Class C) Driver’s License
As long as you follow the rules and maintain safe and legal driving habits, the restrictions will be removed from your license after 270 days.
Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.
If you would like to skip the required driver’s education course, you will have to wait until you are at least 18 years old to apply for your Learner’s Permit.
Although your driving privileges will be unrestricted upon gaining your full (Class C) license, you will still remain under provisional status until the age of 21. This means that you can’t receive any traffic violations during this time period. If you do, your license will be suspended for up to 30 days. More severe penalties will occur for second and third offenses, so drive carefully!