How to Pass the Mississippi Permit Test


Wondering how to pass the Mississipi permit test and get your permit?  If you want to get your permit and go on to become a fully licensed driver in the state of Mississippi, you will need to educate yourself on the Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL). This process exists to provide young drivers the time they need to develop important driving skills while still remaining in a low-risk environment. GDL programs actively reduce the risk of traffic accidents caused by inexperienced drivers.

In Mississippi, the GDL program includes three distinct stages:

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Intermediate License
  • Full License

In this guide, you will learn more about the GDL and discover how to pass the Mississippi permit test and go on to receive your unrestricted license.

Step I: The Mississippi Learner’s Permit

In Mississippi, you can apply for a Learner’s Permit as young as age 14. To do this, you must be enrolled in a driver’s education course. If you want to skip this, you will have to wait until you are 15 years old to apply for your permit.

The main requirement for receiving a permit is passing a written knowledge test (or permit test). This test will check how well you know the laws of the road and traffic signs.

Study Carefully to Ensure Success

You won’t pass the test unless you prepare ahead of time. We offer a free copy of the Mississippi Driver’s Handbook for your use. Read through the entire book, devoting extra time to any sections you don’t feel confident about.

Take Time for Practice Tests

Practice tests are a proven way to increase your chances of passing the permit test with a great score. Our Mississippi practice permit test contains much of the same subject matter as the real test and is a wonderful resource for studying.

Visit the Local Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) Office and Take Your Test

Bring with you:

  • Your certified birth certificate.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Certificate of Attendance to show you are in school (required by law in Mississippi).
  • A completed application with a signature from your parent or guardian.
  • A fee of $4 for your Learner’s Permit.

Now, you will take the permit test. It’s multiple choice, so if you get stuck, you should be able to use logic to find the right answer. Often times, at least one or two of the choices will be obviously incorrect, and after you eliminate those, you will at least have a 50/50 shot of getting it right. However, if you studied properly and took your practice exams, you shouldn’t have any trouble passing.

When you successfully finish the test, you will be given a vision exam to make sure you can see well enough to drive safely.

Begin Your Essential Driving Practice

Learning to drive takes practice, and your permit allows you to drive as long as you have a licensed driver age 21 or above in the seat next to you.

Step II: The Mississippi Intermediate License

When you are 16 years old, and you have held your Learner’s Permit for a full year, you can apply for your Intermediate License. To do so, you will need to pass a behind-the-wheel driving test that will check how well you control your car, observe traffic law and pay attention to signs and signals. You will also need to pass a second vision test.

When you’re ready, visit your local DPS offices and bring along:

  • Your birth certificate.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Certificate of Attendance to show you are in school (required by law in Mississippi).
  • Your parent or guardian. If your parent or guardian can’t be present, you will need to bring a notarized and signed application.
  • A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.

When you pass your driving skills test and your vision test, you will be given your Intermediate License. It comes with a few restrictions:

  • You may not drive unsupervised between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday nights or 11:30 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday nights. Driving to and from work is an exception.
  • You and any of your passengers must wear safety belts at all times.

Step III: The Mississippi Full License

When you are 16 and a half years old, and you have held your Intermediate License for at least six months without any traffic violations, you can apply for your full, adult license. Simply visit your local DPS office and show your Certificate of School Attendance, and you will become an unrestricted driver.

Additional Information

Generally speaking, you need to be enrolled in school to move through any of the Mississippi GDL stages. However, if you are a teen who is married, you can show your marriage certificate instead of your attendance certificate.