How to Pass the Nevada Permit Test
The state of Nevada, like most others, now uses a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that serves to help young drivers become comfortable with driving over time. GDL programs reduce your chances of an accident by allowing you to practice driving under supervision before you drive on your own.
In Nevada, there are three steps to the GDL process:
- Learner’s Permit
- Minor License
- Full License
This guide will help you gain an understanding of the GDL process. You will also learn how to pass the Nevada permit test and ultimately obtain your full driver’s license.
Step I: The Nevada Learner’s Permit
The state of Nevada requires that young drivers enroll in an approved driver’s education course. You can take this course online or in person, beginning at 15 years old. Either way, upon receiving your Learner’s Permit, you will need to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving. If you live more than 30 miles from a classroom location, you have the option of completing 100 hours of supervised practice driving instead of taking either course.
To receive your Learner’s Permit, you will need to pass a written exam (or permit test), which consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. This will check how well you’ve learned traffic law, signs and signals. You must pass this test with a score of 80 percent or higher.
Study, Study, Study
If you want to ensure you pass your permit test on the first try, you will need to do plenty of studying in advance. We offer a free copy of the Nevada Driver’s Handbook for you to use in your studies. Be sure to read through each chapter carefully, and spend extra time on any areas you find confusing.
Take Practice Tests
We offer a Nevada practice permit test that can go a long way in preparing you. It contains a lot of the same topics as the actual exam, and after you take it a few times, you should be able to gauge how prepared you are for the real thing.
Visit the State of Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Office and Do Your Testing
This is the moment you’ve prepared for. Visit the DMV office and bring:
- Your birth certificate or U.S. passport.
- Your Social Security card.
- Proof of residency (a school enrollment card or parent’s utility bill).
- $47 in license and testing fees.
The exam will be multiple choice, so if you get stuck on a question, try to use a process of elimination to figure out the right answer. Often times, one or more of the choices will be obviously incorrect, and if you can remove those, you will have a better shot at guessing correctly. However, as long as you studied and took your practice tests, you should know most of the answers.
When you complete your permit test, you will be given a vision test to make sure you can see well enough to drive. Be sure to bring along your classes or contact lenses if you have trouble seeing without them.
Begin Your Behind-the-Wheel Practice
Now that you have your permit, you must complete your 50 hours of supervised practice driving. Of those 50 hours, 10 must take place at night.
Step II: The Nevada Minor License
When you are 16 years old and have held your permit for at least six months without causing an accident or receiving any traffic violations, you can apply for your minor license. You also can’t have any drug or alcohol-related violations, and you must have completed your required driving practice and education.
Getting your Minor License involves passing a behind-the-wheel test, which will check how well you maintain control over your vehicle and observe traffic law.
When you are ready, call the DMV and make an appointment for your driving test. On appointment day, be sure to bring along:
- A signed Financial Responsibility Statement and Affidavit for Minor to be Licensed.
- Learner’s Permit.
- Proof of identity and residency.
- Driver’s Education Certificate or proof that you have completed high school.
- A completed Beginning Driver Experience Log (Form DLD-130).
- A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.
- $3.25 in license fees.
Try to stay calm and focus as you take the driving test. You have practiced hard, and as long as you keep your wits about you, the test should go fine.
Upon passing the test, you will receive your Minor License. It comes with some restrictions. Unless you are accompanied by a supervising driver, you can’t drive:
- Between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. except for school or work events.
- With passengers under the age of 18 unless they are family members.
- Without wearing a safety belt.
Step III: The Nevada Full License
When you are 18 years old and haven’t received any traffic violations, the restrictions will be removed from your license. Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.
To legally drive in the state of Nevada, you must have 20/40 vision or better in at least one eye.