How to Pass the Oklahoma Permit Test
Getting your permit and ultimately your driver’s license in the state of Oklahoma means completing the Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that will help you develop crucial driving skills while remaining in a supervised environment. The GDL program was implemented in Oklahoma in 2006, and since then, teenage traffic deaths have been reduced by 45 percent.
The Oklahoma GDL process includes three different stages:
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate License
- Full License
This guide will help you understand the various stages of the GDL process, show you how to pass the Oklahoma permit test and go on to earn full driving privileges.
Step I: The Oklahoma Learner’s Permit
If you sign up for an approved driver’s education class, you can apply for your permit as early as age 15 and a half. If you don’t want to take driver’s education, you can apply for your permit at age 16. Taking driver’s education is strongly encouraged.
To get your permit, you will need to pass a written skills exam (also known as the permit test). This multiple-choice exam will test your knowledge of traffic law, traffic signs and signals.
Study Like Crazy
If you want to ensure that you will do well on the test, you should make study a priority. We provide a free copy of the Oklahoma Driver’s Handbook for you to use, and if you prefer a physical copy, you can visit the offices of the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) and request one.
Consider Practice Exams
Taking practice exams before you try the real thing is an excellent way to up your odds of doing well. Our Oklahoma practice permit test features the same subject matter as the real test and is a wonderful resource for learning.
Visit the DPS Offices and Take Your Tests
When you’re ready for the permit test, visit the local DPS offices and bring along:
- Your parent or legal guardian.
- Proof of enrollment or completion of a driver’s education course if you are under the age of 16.
- Your certified birth certificate.
- Your Social Security card.
- Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
Note: There is no fee for a first-time permit test, but if you fail and require a second chance, there will be a fee of $4.
At this point, you will be given your permit test. Relax and do your best. When you pass, you will be given a vision test, and from there, you will receive your Learner’s Permit.
Get to Practicing
While holding your permit, you are required to complete at least 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver age 21 or above who has held his or her license for at least two years. Of those practice hours, at least 10 must take place at night.
Step II: The Oklahoma Intermediate License
When you are 16 years old, you have carried your permit for at least six months and you have completed the practice-driving requirements, you can make an appointment to take the driving test and apply for your Intermediate License.
When you leave for your appointment, be sure to bring along:
- Your Learner’s Permit.
- Your certified birth certificate and Social Security card.
- An Affidavit of Driver Training (Form DPS-300) that shows you completed your required practice.
- Proof of enrollment or completion of school.
- Your parent or legal guardian.
- $21.50 in testing and license fees.
- A registered and insured (with proof) vehicle to use for the driving test.
Now, you will be given your behind-the-wheel test, which will check how well you maintain control of your vehicle and observe traffic laws. After you pass, you will be given your Intermediate License, which comes with some restrictions. Unless supervised by a licensed driver age 21 or above, you cannot:
- Drive between 9:00 p.m. and 4:30 a.m.
- Drive with more than one passenger who isn’t a member of your household.
Step III: The Oklahoma Full License
When you are 16 and a half years old, and you have held your Intermediate License for at least six months without any traffic convictions, the restrictions will be removed from your license. Congratulations! You can now enjoy full driving privileges.
If you are caught driving while using a cell phone or other hand-held electronic device, your license may be suspended or cancelled.
If you don’t want to complete the GDL process, you can simply wait until you are 18 years old and then pass the written, vision and driving tests to receive your full license.