How to Pass the Wyoming Permit Test
Earning your learners permit in Wyoming is a huge step towards getting your full license. The process can be complex, but it doesn’t have to be overwhelming or confusing. Our easy-to-follow guide will help you every step of the way, from preparing for the permit test to applying for a Full License. Let’s get started!
Wyoming is like most states in that all young drivers are required to complete a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process has been statistically shown to reduce the number of accidents caused by young and inexperienced drivers. The GDL process will allow you to gain crucial driving skills while remaining under supervision.
In Wyoming, the GDL process features three stages:
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate Permit
- Full License
Stage I: The Wyoming Learner’s Permit
When you are 15 years old, you are eligible to apply for your Learner’s Permit. To do so, you must pass a written driver’s exam (or permit test), which will check your awareness of traffic law and road signs.
Study Hard to Ensure Success
It’s important to devote plenty of time to study if you want to pass the permit test on the first try. We offer a free copy of the Wyoming Driver’s Handbook for you to use in your studies. Commit to reading the entire thing, and go back over any sections you don’t feel entirely comfortable with.
Commit to Passing Practice Tests
If you don’t take practice exams before trying the real thing, you’re missing out on a good resource for learning. Our Wyoming practice permit test features many of the same topics you will find on the actual exam, and taking it will increase your chances of doing well.
Visit the Wyoming State Department of Transportation (DOT) Offices and do Your Testing
When you feel prepared, visit the DOT offices, bringing along:
- Your birth certificate, U.S. passport or other identifying documents.
- Your Social Security card.
- Two proofs of residency, such as a bank statement or telephone bill.
- $20 in fees.
The permit test should be relatively easy as long as you have studied properly. When you pass, you will also be given a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to drive. You will also take a photograph for your driver’s license at this time, so be sure to wear a shirt that you like!
Begin Your Practice Driving
While holding your Instruction Permit, you must practice driving for at least 50 hours while under the supervision of a licensed driver age 18 or older. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night.
Stage II: The Wyoming Intermediate Permit
When you are 16 years old, you have held your permit for at least 10 days, and you have completed your required practice driving, you can apply for your Intermediate Permit. This requires that you pass a behind-the-wheel driving test. When you are ready, visit any DOT testing location, bringing along:
- Your Instruction Permit.
- Your parent or guardian.
- The same identity and residency proofs you used before.
- A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.
- Signed proof that you completed your practice driving.
- $20 in fees.
The driving test will check how well you maintain control of your vehicle and pay attention to traffic law. Try to stay calm and remember everything you’ve been practicing, and you will be sure to do well. When you pass, you will be given another vision exam.
Your Intermediate Permit comes with some restrictions. Unless supervised by a licensed adult driver, you may not:
- Drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- Drive with more than one unrelated passenger under the age of 18.
- Drive without safety belts or with passengers who are not wearing safety belts.
Stage III: The Wyoming Full License
You must hold your Intermediate Permit for at least six months. Driver’s education is not required in Wyoming, but many young drivers choose to take it at this time. With an approved driver’s education course, you may get your Full License at 16 and a half years old. If you want to skip the course, the restrictions will be removed from your license at 17 years old.
Certain teens in Wyoming have the option of applying for a Restricted Learner’s Permit, also known as a “Hardship Permit,” which allows drivers as young as age 14 to drive in certain circumstances. To qualify for this permit, you must meet one of the following standards:
- You must live more than five miles of the school you attend.
- You must have a regular job that is more than five miles from your home.
- You must drive in order to work in the family business.
- You must face other difficult circumstances that demonstrate a need to drive.