Alaska DMV Learner's Permit FAQ

  • Applying for Your AK License
  • Preparing for the AK Permit Test
  • Taking the AK Permit Test
  • Preparing for the AK Driving Test
  • Taking the AK Driving Test
  • Renewing Your AK License
Close all

Applying for Your AK License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Acquiring an unrestricted Alaska driver’s license requires teen drivers to go through a series of steps. Those steps are:

  • At 14 years old you can get your Learner’s Permit
  • At 16 years old you can get your Provisional Driver’s License
  • At 18 years old, or after holding a provisional license for 6 months, with no violations, you can get an unrestricted driver’s license

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Alaska?

For your Learner’s Permit you must present:

  • Form 433 (Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor Form) signed by a parent/legal guardian
  • Form 478 (Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card)
  • Proof of legal name, birth date, Alaska residency and Social Security Number. A complete list of acceptable proof is available on the state DMV website.

For your provisional license you must present:

  • Proof that you have completed 40 hours of supervised driving with at least 10 hours of driving at night, in inclement weather or in other challenging conditions.
  • Proof of legal name, birth date, Alaska residency and Social Security Number. Here is a complete list of acceptable proof.

For your unrestricted license you must present:

  • Form 433 (Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor Form) signed by a parent/legal guardian
  • Your provisional license

Where do I file my AK driver’s license application?

Visit your local DMV office to get started.

How can I contact my local DMV office?

To reach the DMV, call (855) 269-5551 (toll free inside Alaska) or (907) 269-5551 (outside of Alaska). You can also visit the DMV website at https://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

In Alaska, you do not need to complete a Driver’s Education course to receive your learner’s permit, restricted or unrestricted license. However, experts recommend that you do take driver’s education to better learn safe driving techniques.

What if I am New to Alaska?

If you have recently moved to Alaska, you are allowed to use your out-of-state driver’s license for up to 90 days as long as you are 16 years of age or older.

To transfer your out-of-state license to Alaska, visit your local DMV office where you must:

  • Surrender your current out-of-state license
  • Take and pass the written knowledge, driving and vision tests
  • Submit proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number
Close all

Preparing for the AK Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

You can expect your Alaska written knowledge test to cover everything from safe driving rules to traffic laws to road signs. Here is sample content drawn from the driver’s manual that may be tested for on the exam:

  • When backing, don’t depend on mirrors. Instead, with your left hand at the top of the steering wheel, turn your body and head to the right and look out the rear window.
  • The most commonly sued devices to alert drivers to unusual or potentially dangerous conditions in highway and street work areas are barricades, vertical panels, cones, tubes and drums.

How is the test formatted?

Test questions are multiple choice.

Are there are lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

There are no purposefully “trick” questions; however, some questions will be more difficult than others. To ensure your best chance of passing be sure to study the Alaska driver’s manual carefully. When studying you should pay attention to numerical figures such as distances, lengths and measurements and try to commit them to memory.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 20 questions on the written knowledge test and you must answer at least 16 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study your Alaska driver’s handbook. You can also take practice tests online to gauge your knowledge and identify areas that you may need to study more intensely. Take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Alaska driver’s manual to study?

We offer free copies of the handbook right here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Study the Alaska driver’s manual from cover to cover and be sure to take mental note of any speed limits, percentages and other numbers that are given. You should also take high quality practice tests to get used to the test format and assess your knowledge.

What should I do the night before the test?

Get plenty of rest! While you may have a strong urge to “cram” for the exam, studies show that it is better to study in advance and rest the night before the test so that you are fresh and at your best come exam time.

Also be sure to give yourself plenty of time to arrive at the DMV for your test. You don’t want to be rushed and stressed when you sit for the test. You want to be calm and confident so that you can do your very best.

Close all

Taking the AK Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Check the DMV website to see if appointments are allowed at your local office, if so, make an appointment to shorten your wait time.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at the DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form 433 (Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor Form) signed by a parent/legal guardian
  • Form 478 (Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card)
  • Proof of legal name, birth date, Alaska residency and Social Security Number. Here is a complete list of acceptable proof.

At the DMV office, you will need to:

  • Pass the vision test
  • Pass the written test
  • Pay your $15 permit fee (your permit will be valid for two years)

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or guardian should accompany you to the test as they will need to sign Form 433.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $15 permit fee to take the test.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test is untimed and consists of 20 multiple choice questions. You must answer at least 16 of the 20 questions correctly to pass. Take a practice test now to experience the exam format and test your knowledge with questions similar to what you will find on the exam.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be issued your Learner’s permit and can start practicing driving under the supervision of a licensed driver who must be in the vehicle with you.

What happens if I fail the written test?

If you fail the written test, you can retake it.

When can I retake the written test?

You can retake it the next business day.

Close all

Preparing for the AK Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Once you have earned your Learner’s Permit you can begin practicing driving under the guidance of a licensed driver. You will need to complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours completed at night and/or in bad weather.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a Provisional License?

You must hold your learner’s permit for six months and complete 40 hours of supervised driving practice before you can apply for your restricted Alaska driver’s license.

Can I drive anywhere in Alaska with my Learner’s Permit?

As long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can drive on any public road or street in the state.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also practice driving at night – and in bad weather – to be eligible for your restricted license.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, a licensed driver age 21 or older must always be in the car with you.

What should I do if I have a lost or expired Alaska Learner’s Permit?

If you have lost your permit, you can get a duplicate by visiting your local DMV office. You will need proof of identify and $15 for the permit fee.

If your permit expires, you will need to go to the DMV and apply for a new one, following the exact procedures you went through previously.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

You will want to get as much driving practice as possible. Remember, to practice at night and in bad weather as well. In addition to practicing, you must learn Alaska’s rules of the road and be sure to follow them when driving. After all, you can get hours and hours of driving practice but if you are doing things the wrong way it won’t help you pass the test.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Be sure to practice three-point turns, parking, stopping and starting, lane changes and defensive driving, such as using your mirrors and following at a safe distance.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Practice maneuvers typically tested for on the exam such as parking, three point turns and driving safely. You may also want to drive on the roads that are used on the test to get familiar with them so there are no surprises on test day.

Close all

Taking the AK Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Visit the DMV website or call your local office to see if you can schedule an appointment. If you do schedule an appointment, be sure to arrive in plenty of time so that you are not rushed.

Where do I take the driving test?

At a nearby DMV office that offers the driving test or at an approved third party provider.

What should I bring to the driving test?

Be sure to go to your test with all of the following:

  • A properly maintained and operating vehicle
  • Proof of registration and insurance for that vehicle
  • Your learner’s permit
  • Proof of your practice driving time

Who should bring me to the driving test?

Those under age 18 should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

First, you will demonstrate knowledge of various car systems and ensure they are operating properly like your signals and lights.

Then you will complete a series of maneuvers which may include: parking, turns, stopping and accelerating, driving in traffic, changing lanes and more.

Be sure to remain calm and follow proper safe driving techniques.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Some of the more popular reasons why drivers fail the test include making mistakes because of nerves, not checking mirrors, speeding, using incorrect hand position on the wheel and not practicing enough.

What are five things should I be sure to do when taking the driving test?

  • Make sure you fully understand the rules of the road and are able to apply them in real world situations
  • Don’t execute a “rolling stop”
  • Don’t “tailgate” the car in front of you
  • Check your mirrors before changing lanes
  • Don’t go over the speed limit

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the driving test?

You will need to wait at least one week. You will also need to pay a $15 test fee again.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

If you are under 18 you will receive your provisional license, which you must hold for at least six months with no violations to get your unrestricted license.

If you are 18 or over, you will have your photo taken and then either receive your full license at that time or you will receive a temporary license and your new license will be mailed to you.

What restrictions come with a AK Provisional License?

Restrictions include:

  • You cannot have passengers in your vehicle under age 21 unless they are siblings
  • You cannot drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
  • You are driving to and from work

An exemption to these rules is when you are driving with a licensed driver who is 21 or older.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in AK?

All drivers in Alaska are required to have insurance. You are also required to show proof of insurance when applying for a restricted or unrestricted license.

Under state statutes, the minimum amounts of insurance required are $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injury or death and $25,000 for property damage. Failure to have the proper insurance may result in a suspension of a driver’s license.

Close all

Renewing Your AK License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Alaska driver’s license must be renewed every 5 years. You can renew it within one year of the expiration date, which is usually your birthday. If your license is lost, damaged or stolen, go to your local DMV office and apply for a duplicate. You will need to pay a replacement fee of $15.

Where can I renew my Alaska driver’s license?

There are two ways to renew your AK driver’s license either by mail

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

According to the state driver’s manual, a vision test is required before any license or permit is issued and this includes original, renewal, and duplicate licenses.

Instead of taking the test at the DMV, you may submit a certified statement from a licensed physician or optometrist stating that your vision meets or exceeds the department’s standards.

Standards for the vision test are at 20/40 vision in each eye or with both eyes together.

If you need corrective lenses in order to qualify, you must wear them while driving.


The Alaska DMV Permit Test –What You Need to Know

Preparing to get your driver’s license in the state of Alaska? You will need to first get your learners permit by passing the the Alaska DMV permit test. This is a mandatory requirement before the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can issue you a permit.

Why AK DMV Practice Permit Tests Are So Important

The permit test contains questions designed to determine if have the required knowledge of the state’s driving rules, road signs and safe driving practices.  On the surface the subject matter can feel like common sense however with over 50% of test takers failing the test, it’s critical you not only prepare but prepare with the right study tools.  Ensure you’re prepared for the test by taking advantage of the study material on this site. A great first step is to become familiar with the information in the Alaska drivers handbook. Afterward you can test your knowledge of the handbook using our free Alaska practice permit test.

So what are you waiting for? Start preparing now and before you know it you’ll be enjoying the freedom of the open road!