- Learner’s permit
- Full driver’s license with restrictions
- Full driver’s license
When you are 16 years old, you can apply for a learner’s permit in Connecticut. The permit will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driving instructor, a parent or guardian with a driver’s license, or a licensed driver at least 20 years of age who has held a license for four years. To receive your learner’s permit, you must pass a multiple-choice exam, also known as the permit test.
The Connecticut DMV Test — What You Need to Know
Before you can experience the independence and freedom that comes with being a licensed driver, you will need to pass the Connecticut DMV written knowledge test. Administered by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the test is designed to determine if you have the required knowledge of safe driving practices. The test contains a series of multiple-choice questions on the rules of the road, Connecticut traffic laws, and various road signs.
Study Carefully to Ensure Success
If you want to succeed at the exam, you will need to study hard. Be sure to read through the entire handbook and take extra time on any sections that you don’t fully understand. We provide a free copy of the Connecticut Driver’s Handbook online, or you can visit the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to request a hard copy.
Study Now With CT DMV Practice Permit Tests
Did you know that statistics reveal that nearly 70% of people fail the test the first time? With those kinds of numbers do you really want to head to the DMV office unprepared? Why take that chance when you can take advantage of the study material on this site.
Here you’ll find our Connecticut practice permit test as well as a copy of the official Connecticut Drivers Handbook. Used together, they make an awesome set of study tools to help you begin preparing for the exam.
Taking practice exams is a great way to avoid wasting your time and money on a test you’re not ready for. Our Connecticut practice permit test includes much of the same material you will find on the actual test, and after taking it a few times, you will definitely feel more confident and prepared.
Gather the Required Materials and Visit Your Local DMV Office
When you feel ready to take the exam, visit your local DMV office, bringing a few important items along with you:
- Two forms of state-approved identification
- Your social security card
- Proof of your Connecticut residency
- A notarized Certificate of Parental Consent (Form 2-D) if your parent or guardian isn’t present
- Application for Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License (Form R-229)
- $59 for testing and learner’s permit fees
Relax and do your best on the exam. You’ve studied hard, and now is your time to shine. If you don’t pass the exam on your first try, you can wait a week and try again, but you will need to pay the fees a second time. Be aware, you will need to take a simple vision test after passing your written exam. This will check to see if you can see well enough to safely navigate the roads.
Once you have your learner’s permit, you must enroll in a safe driving practices class. You are also required to complete at least 22 hours of classroom training and another 40 hours of practice driving with a licensed driving instructor, parent or guardian. If training at a secondary school, you will need to hold your learner’s permit for 120 days before you will be eligible to apply for your license. If you are training at home under the supervision of your parents, you will need to hold the permit for 180 days.
Restricted Driver’s License
When you have met the above requirements, you are ready to take your road test and apply for your restricted license. Call your local DMV office in advance and schedule an appointment. When the day arrives, be sure to bring a few things with you:
- Your learner’s permit
- A completed Application for Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit and/or Driver’s License, signed by the trainer who taught your course (Form R-229)
- A Driver’s Education Certificate that shows you completed training (Form CS-1)
- A registration and proof of insurance for the vehicle you plan on using during the test
- Up to $124 for license and exam fees
For the first year, your license will come with some restrictions:
- During the first six months, you may drive while accompanied by a parent, guardian or a qualified driving instructor who is at least 20 years of age
- During the second six months, you can drive with a parent or guardian, a qualified driving instructor who is at least 20 years of age, or other immediate family members
Until you are 18 years old:
- You may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless it’s due to an emergency or because you must get to work, school or church
- You may not use a cell phone while driving
- You may not drive a carpool vehicle
- You and any of your passengers must wear a seat belt at all times
After you turn 18 and have held your license for at least a year, the above restrictions are lifted and you are finally a fully licensed driver.
As of January 1, 2013, the state of Connecticut requires a learner’s permit for all new drivers, even if you are over 18 years of age at the time you apply. You must carry this permit for at least 90 days before you can apply for your license. Adults over 18 years of age do not have to complete classroom training or submit parental consent forms, but they are required to complete the Safe Driving Practices course.