Delaware has something for everyone. Those looking to learn can stop by one of the many museums dotted around the state, those wanting to get outside can visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge and Allee House in Smyrna, but Delaware is best known for its beautiful countryside.
Delaware is one of the most sought-after states for highway drives, and motorcyclists can enjoy the picturesque scenery while the wind blows through their hair.
However, this motorcycling utopia cannot be enjoyed unless you obey state law and understand the rules of the road. Follow this guide to learn how to get your Delaware motorcycle license.
Motorcycle Eligibility Requirements
To start, no one can apply for a motorcycle license unless they already have a full driver’s license. If you have a class D license, you can apply for a motorcycle permit and endorsement at any DMV office in Delaware. The fee for motorcycle endorsements are $12.00.
Applicants under 18 must take the Motorcycle Rider Course and have their application signed by a parent or guardian to be eligible.
M Class License
Once you’ve successfully completed the motorcycle education course (which teaches motorcyclists the basics of road safety) a motorcycle license, or “M Class,” is added to your driver’s license.
Before earning an endorsement, applicants must get a Delaware motorcycle permit valid for six months. To get that permit, you’ll need to visit your local DMV office and pass the following exams: written knowledge test, road sign test, and vision test.
Pass a Written Knowledge Test
The written knowledge test is administered at your local DMV office and tests your knowledge of the rules of the road and safe motor vehicle operation. The test consists of 25 multiple-choice questions, 20 of which must be answered correctly to pass. To help ensure you don’t leave the DMV empty-handed, you should prepare for the exam by becoming familiar with the official Delaware Motorcycle Manual and test your knowledge with a few practice tests.
Take a Vision Test
Following the written knowledge test, you’ll have to take the eye exam. Applicants must bring the required identification.
Getting Your Motorcycle License
Upon completion of the Motorcycle Rider Course, applicants under 18 years old will receive a Student Completion Card (SCC), which is valid for six months.
The Skills Test
When you’re ready to take the skills test, visit your local DMV office with the following:
- Student Completion Card
- Required identification documents
- Payment for the motorcycle licensing fee
- Written permission from your parent or legal guardian (if 18 or under)
Applicants over the age of 18 can use motorcycle education classes to waive the written skills test and road exam, but younger applicants are required to enroll in classes.
After Your License
Receiving your endorsement will be exciting! But it’s important to remember that safely operating a motorcycle doesn’t end with getting your license. Read on to understand other essential requirements before you venture out on the road.
Purchase Motorcycle Insurance
Delaware law decrees that all motorcycle riders must purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance with no alternatives permitted. This mandatory insurance coverage includes $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, $15,000 for bodily injury for one person, and $10,000 for damage to property.
These amounts only cover damage suffered by the other person. Motorcyclists in Delaware are urged to purchase extra insurance to make sure they too are covered. Those who take Motorcycle Safety Class courses can enjoy between 5% and 15% off their insurance premiums.
Ensure You Always Wear a Helmet
All riders under the age of 19 are required by law to wear a helmet and eye protection. Everyone else must wear something to protect their vision and must have a helmet on their person when riding.