Kansas Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your KS License
  • Preparing for the KS Permit Test
  • Taking the KS Permit Test
  • Preparing for the KS Driving Test
  • Taking the KS Driving Test
  • Renewing Your KS License
Close all

Applying for Your KS License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Kansas has adopted a Graduated Driver’s License program that includes the following stages and age requirements:

  • Learner’s Permit – 14 years old
  • Restricted or Provisional License – 15 years old
  • Less Restricted License – 16 years old
  • Non-restricted License – 17 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Kansas?

  • Approval from parent or guardian
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Kansas residency
  • A total of $42 for permit, photo and testing fees

The Kansas DOV website has a complete list of acceptable documents to submit as proof for identity and residency.

Where do I file my KS driver’s license application?

How can I contact my local office?

Call (785) 296-3963 or visit https://www.ksrevenue.org/dmvdlcontact.html.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

In Kansas, driver’s education is required if you want to earn a restricted license. It is not required for a Learner’s Permit or an unrestricted license.

What if I am new to Kansas?

Kansas does not accept out-of-state Learner’s Permits. You will need to apply for a Kansas Learner’s Permit following the same procedures and requirements as residents born in Kansas.

Close all

Preparing for the KS Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

You can expect your Kansas written knowledge test to cover state traffic laws, road signs, safe driving information and regulations – all of which will help you drive safely and successfully. Here are a couple of examples of information drawn from your state driver’s manual that you may need to know on the test:

  • You must pull over and stop at the side of the road for any emergency vehicle with its lights or sirens on
  • Signs in yellow with black lettering and symbols are usually warning signs

How is the test formatted?

The Kansas test is delivered in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

There are no trick questions but it’s important to pay special attention to questions involving numbers like speed limits and blood alcohol levels. All questions are drawn from the state’s driver’s manual. Study the manual thoroughly and you shouldn’t be surprised by any questions on the test.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the test and you must answer at least 20 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study your Kansas Driver’s Manual which covers the state’s traffic laws, road signs and other rules of the road. In fact, all exam questions are drawn from this book. You can also take practice tests online to get a sense of how you are doing and to identify areas that you might be weak in so that you can study them more. Take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Kansas Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free manuals on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

There really aren’t any short cuts when it comes to preparing for the Kansas written permit test. You need to study your state driver’s manual extensively. You should also take practice tests online to make sure what you are studying is sticking in your brain and the tests may also contain questions that further your knowledge even more. Take a practice test to assess your current understanding of Kansas’s driving laws.

What should I do the night before the test?

Plan on doing a light review of the driver’s manual and taking a practice test or two to ensure you know what you need to know and build your confidence. Then you should go to bed early and get a good night’s sleep so that you are at your best the next day. Also, be sure to leave plenty of time to get to your test so that you are not feeling rushed and stressed when you take it.

Close all

Taking the KS Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

It is recommended that you make an appointment if the local DMV office accepts them.

Where do I take the written test?

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Approval from parent or guardian
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Kansas residency
  • A total of $42 for permit, photo and testing fees

The Kansas Department of Revenue website offers a list of acceptable documents to submit as proof for identity and residency.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian, who will need to give their consent for you to receive your permit or license.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a total of $42 in fees to take the test.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

There will be 25 questions covering traffic laws, road signs and defensive driving techniques. There is no time limit for the test so you can proceed at your own pace. You cannot refer to notes or the driver’s manual when taking the test. To pass the test, you will need to answer at least 20 of the questions correctly. Here is a practice test formatted like the real Kansas test.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin behind-the-wheel driving practice. You need to log 25 total hours of practice driving to qualify for a restricted license.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You can retake it as soon as the next business day.

Close all

Preparing for the KS Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You must now compile 25 hours of driving practice with a licensed driver age 21 or older to qualify for your restricted license. Once you have your restricted license, you will need to log 25 more hours of supervised driving practice.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for a restricted license if you are at least 15 years old, have held your Learner’s Permit for at least one year and you have completed 25 hours of the required 50 hours of supervised driving practice.

Can I drive anywhere in Kansas with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you can drive on any public Kansas road or street as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, of the 50 total hours of driving practice that you will need to log at least 10 of the hours must be completed at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

You must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Kansas Learner’s Permit?

You can get a duplicate in person at your local DMV office. You will need to provide identification and pay a $16 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The best way to prepare to pass is to get as much actual behind-the-wheel practice as possible. Also, when practicing be sure to stay focused and try to apply the concepts revealed in the state’s driver’s manual to your driving. Also, listen to your driving supervisor and try to implement the suggestions that they give you.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Practice turns, parking, stopping, accelerating, defensive driving and changing lanes.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Practice maneuvers that are commonly tested for such as turns, including a three-point turn; parking in a parking space; driving defensively in traffic; changing lanes; using your mirrors; obeying traffic signs; and more.

Close all

Taking the KS Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Call your local driver’s license station or go online.

Where do I take the driving test?

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Proper identification – here is a list of documents accepted by the Kansas Department of Revenue
  • Driver’s education completion certificate
  • Proof that you have logged at least 25 hours of driving practice
  • $31 for license, photo and test fees
  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

The driving test typically consists of two parts – a course where you will perform common maneuvers, such as parking, stopping, accelerating and turning, and then for the second part you will drive in traffic. You will need to perform the maneuvers skillfully and you will need to display good defensive driving techniques when on public roads.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Drivers fail for a number of reasons, including nerves, being distracted, lack of practice, not taking the test seriously, making a series of minor mistakes, or making a big mistake like going over the speed limit.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Speeding
  • Rolling stops
  • Not checking mirrors
  • Going over the line when parking
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

You can retake the test the next business day.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your restricted license.

What restrictions come with a Kansas license?

If you are age 15:

  • You may drive only with a licensed adult age 21 or older in front seat
  • You may drive only the most direct and accessible route between home and school or work
  • You cannot have any non-sibling passengers
  • You cannot use a cellphone

When you turn 16:

  • You can drive unsupervised between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. and to work, school or church
  • You can have one non-sibling passenger under 18

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in KS?

All Kansas drivers are expected to meet the following minimum insurance requirements: $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury liability; $10,000 property damage liability; $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured bodily injury; and $45,000 medical/$900 work loss personal injury protection. Additional insurance coverage can include comprehensive and collision coverage.

Close all

Renewing Your KS License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

When you will need to renew your license depends on your age: if you are under 21 you will need to renew on your 21st birthday; if you are between 21 and 65 your license will be valid for six years; and if you are older than 65 your license will be good for four years.

You can renew your license up to one year before it expires unless you are under 21 in which case you have to wait for your 21st birthday.

If your license is lost or stolen, you can get a duplicate in person at your local DMV office. You will need to provide identification and pay a $16 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Kansas driver’s license?

You can renew your Kansas license by mail or in person.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If renewing in person, you will need to take the eye test. There are two options for taking the test – you can take it at the KS DOR office when you are renewing or at a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist within 90 days of your renewal.

Kansas considers good vision critical to safe driving and requires that you have 20/40 vision in at least one eye with or without corrective lenses.


The Kansas DMV Test — What You Need to Know

There aren’t many things as exciting as getting your learner’s permit.  A permit  gives you the opportunity to experience the freedom that comes with finally getting behind wheel.  The Kansas permit is designed to test your knowledge of the rules of the road, Kansas traffic laws, and road signs.

To get your permit, you’ll first need to pass the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) permit test. On it, you’ll find questions about the rules of the road, state specific traffic laws, road signs, and important safety rules.

Earn Your Permit or License With KS DMV Practice Tests

Countless people fail the written test. They then have to retake it…sometimes more than once. In fact statistics reveal that the majority of test takers will fail this year.  But, with the right preparation and practice, you can pass your test.

Our goal is to help you quickly and easily pass the written exam.

On this page we’ve assembled a list of important study tools. You’ll get access to our interactive Kansas practice permit tests. The practice tests are designed to give you a taste of what the real exam format is like. You’ll also find the official Kansas Driver’s Manual.