Louisiana DMV Learner's Permit FAQ

  • Applying for Your LA License
  • Preparing for the LA Permit Test
  • Taking the LA Permit Test
  • Preparing for the LA Driving Test
  • Taking the LA Driving Test
  • Renewing Your LA License
Close all

Applying for Your LA License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Teen drivers in Louisiana are obligated to complete the state’s Graduated Driver’s License Program in order to receive their driver’s license. Ages and stages for the program are:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 16 years old – Intermediate Driver’s License
  • 17 years old – Unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Louisiana?

  • Certified birth certificate
  • Social Security Card or verification
  • Driver’s Education Completion Certificate
  • Certificate of Required Attendance or a Home Study Approval Notification Letter
  • $32.25 fee payment

A complete list of acceptable identification documents can be found on the Louisiana OMV website.

Where do I file my LA driver’s license application?

At a local office of the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).

How can I contact my local office?

Call (225) 922-1175 for Baton Rouge Area or (225) 925-6146 for rest of state. You can also visit https://omv.dps.state.la.us/locations.html.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, the state of Louisiana requires you to complete a driver’s ed course in order to get your Learner’s Permit. The course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind the wheel instruction.

What if I am new to Louisiana?

Teens who are 16 or 17 years old and who move to Louisiana are allowed to transfer a valid out-of-state Driver’s License or Learner’s Permit to the state as long as they have held that license or permit for at least 180 days. They are also not required to complete a Louisiana driver’s ed course.

Close all

Preparing for the LA Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

In Louisiana the written knowledge exam covers traffic laws, road signs and safe driving rules and techniques, which are all covered in the state driver’s manual. As an example, you may find questions on the following which have been drawn from the manual:

  • In Louisiana your license may be revoked for failure to stop and render aid following an accident that you were involved in
  • According to Louisiana law anyone caught littering while driving could be subject to punishment ranging from a $50 fine plus 8 hours of community service picking up litter to a $5,000 fine, one year driver’s license suspension and 30 days in jail or 1,000 hours of community service.

How is the test formatted?

The Louisiana test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no purposefully tricky questions. All questions have been taken from the Louisiana Driver’s Manual and are asked to ensure you have the knowledge level needed to drive safely in the state.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 40 questions and you must answer at least 32 correctly in order to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study the Louisiana Driver’s Manual as much as possible being sure to pay particular attention to speed limits, blood-alcohol percentages and other similar numerical requirements. You should also take practice tests to verify your knowledge and identify any areas that you need to study more. Take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Louisiana Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free copies of the state driver’s manual.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Don’t take short cuts. Study the Louisiana Driver’s Manual extensively. Learn the rules of the road. Be able to decipher the meaning of road signs by sight. To ensure you are learning the information necessary to pass, take practice tests online. You can take a practice test here.

What should I do the night before the test?

Use this time before the test to make sure you know the material. Look over the driver’s manual one more time and take a practice test to build your confidence. Then get a good night’s sleep. On test day, eat a good meal and be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to the test – you don’t want to be running late and feel stressed out.

Close all

Taking the LA Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

It is recommended that you make an appointment if your local OMV office accepts them.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at your local office of the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Certified birth certificate
  • Social Security Card or verification
  • Driver’s Education Completion Certificate
  • Certificate of Required Attendance or a Home Study Approval Notification Letter
  • $32.25 fee payment

A complete list of acceptable identification documents can be found on the Louisiana OMV website.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a permit fee of $32.25.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test consists of 40 questions covering Louisiana traffic laws, rules of the road and road signs. You can miss a maximum of 8 questions and still pass the exam. During the exam, you cannot refer to the state driver’s manual or any notes. The test does not have a time limit so you can take as long as you want to complete it. One recommended strategy is to skip over difficult questions and come back to them at the end if necessary – depending on how many other questions you answer it may not even matter whether you get that difficult question right or wrong because you may already have enough answered correctly to pass. Take a practice test formatted like the real Louisiana test here.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Louisiana Learner’s Permit which will allow you to drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older or a licensed sibling age 18 or over.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake it.

How soon can I retake the test?

You can retake it as soon as the next business day.

Close all

Preparing for the LA Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Once you have passed the written test and received your Learner’s Permit you can begin supervised driving practice with a licensed driver age 21 or older or a licensed sibling age 18 or over. In all, you must log 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 15 hours coming at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for an intermediate license when you meet the following requirements: are at least 16 years old, have held your Learner’s Permit for 180 days and have completed the 50 hours of supervised driving practice, including 15 hours of night driving.

Can I drive anywhere in Louisiana with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you can drive on any Louisiana public road or street as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old or a licensed sibling who is at least 18.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are also required to accumulate 15 hours of driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older or a licensed sibling age 18 or over.

What should I do if I have a lost Louisiana Learner’s Permit?

You can get a replacement at the local OMV office. Be prepared to show identification documents and to pay a $17 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

A two-pronged approach is best – learn Louisiana traffic laws and safe driving techniques by studying the state driver’s manual and then be sure to apply those laws and techniques as you practice driving with a licensed adult. Also, be sure to listen to your driving supervisor’s suggestions and criticisms.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice two and three-point turns, parking, stopping and starting and using defensive driving tactics when driving in traffic.

How can I simulate the driving test?

The following skills are most important as they demonstrate your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely in normal traffic, so be sure to work on the extensively:

  • Backing
  • Yielding right of way
  • Approach to corner
  • Keeping in lane
  • Parking between cars
  • Use of signals
  • Following others
  • Attention
  • Turning
  • Response to signs and signals
Close all

Taking the LA Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles office for available test times.

Where do I take the driving test?

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Vehicle with current safety inspection sticker
  • Valid registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Valid Learner’s Permit
  • Birth Certificate
  • Certificate of Required Attendance or a Home Study Approval Notification Letter
  • $13 upgrade fee – plus, any local fees that may be charged (can be up to $4)

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

The test consists of two sections – a road skills test and a driving performance test. Basically, you will be tested on your knowledge of the rules of the road in Louisiana and your ability to drive safely under normal conditions. During the test, the examiner will evaluate your awareness of risks as well as your reaction to those risks. You will also be evaluated on your observation skills at intersections, when changing lanes and in other driving situations.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Common reasons drivers fail the Louisiana driver’s test is because of: a traffic law violation, an accident or incident occurs, lack of cooperation or refusal to follow instructions, a collision or because of a series of minor mistakes that add up to a failing score.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not paying attention to everything around your vehicle
  • Not using signals properly
  • Not coming to a full stop
  • Driving with hands in the wrong position on the steering wheel
  • Failure to obey traffic signs or signals

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

Upon completion of your driver’s test, the examiner will explain why you failed and will tell you when you can retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your intermediate license.

What restrictions come with a Louisiana license?

You may only drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. You can drive at any hour when accompanied by a licensed adult.

Also, if you are driving between 6 p.m. and 5 a.m. you cannot have more than one passenger under 21 years old unless they are immediate family members or you are accompanied by a licensed adult age 21 or over.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in LA?

In Louisiana, the following minimum insurance coverage is required to legally operate a motor vehicle in the state: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage and $25,000 for property damage liability coverage; $1,000 for medical payments; and $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury.

Close all

Renewing Your LA License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Louisiana Driver’s License expires four years from your nearest birthday. You can renew the license up to 180 days prior to the expiration.
If your license is lost or stolen, you can get a replacement at the local OMV office. Be prepared to show identification documents and to pay a $17 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Louisiana driver’s license?

You may renew your license at the local OMV office or if you are under 70 years of age and have a class “D” or “E” license you may be selected to renew by mail, Internet or phone.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If renewing in person at the OMV you will need to take a vision test.

The state of Louisiana has set minimum vision requirements for safe driving as 20/40. If you fail the test, you will be given a vision report that is to be completed by a vision specialist of your choice. If you need corrective lenses to pass, your license will indicate that you are required to wear them while driving.


The Louisiana OMV Test — What You Need to Know

So, you’re interested in getting your Louisiana learner’s permit. That’s excellent! With a little help, you’ll pass the Louisiana permit test in no time.  Louisiana’s Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) requires each permit applicant to successfully pass the permit test before issuing a learner’s permit. Your knowledge of safe driving techniques, traffic and road signs, as well as Louisiana traffic laws will be evaluated with a series of multiple-choice questions.

Prepare the Smart Way With LA OMV Practice Tests

With statistics revealing that the majority of test applicants fail, it’s essential you start preparing with the best study material available.  Don’t miss the opportunity to get your permit as soon as possible.  On this page, you’ll discover a list of handy study resources all geared towards preparing you for the exam.  You’ll find our Louisiana practice permit tests are excellent tools to test your knowledge of the information found in the Louisiana Driver’s Handbook.