Looking to pass the Minnesota permit test and get your permit? We’ve got you covered. In this step-by-step guide we will walk you through the entire process from permit to license including the steps required to prepare for the test. Let’s get started!
In the state of Minnesota, teenage drivers must go through a multi-step process in order to obtain full driving privileges. This process, known as the Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), serves to help you gain crucial driving experience while remaining under the supervision of a licensed driver. GDL programs have been shown to reduce the number of traffic accidents that occur due to inexperienced drivers.
In Minnesota, the GDL includes three different stages:
- Instructional Permit
- Provisional License
- Full License
Before applying for your Instructional Permit (or learner’s permit), the state of Minnesota requires that you enroll in driver’s education. The mandatory course includes 30 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training, with 10 of those hours taking place at night.
When you have completed this requirement and are at least 15 years old, you are ready to apply for your permit. The process involves passing a written knowledge test (or permit test) that will check how well you know the rules of the road as well as traffic signals.
Study, Study, Study
If you prepare carefully, you are sure to do well on the test. We provide a free copy of the Minnesota Driver’s Handbook for you to use, and you can ask for a physical copy at your local Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division (DVS).
Don’t Skip Your Practice Tests
Taking practice tests is a great way to make sure you are ready for the real thing. Our Minnesota practice permit test can up your chances of passing your permit test since it contains many of the same topics.
Visit the Local DVS Office and Take Your Test
- Proof that you completed your driver’s education course.
- Your completed permit application with a signature from your parent or guardian.
- Two methods of proving your identity (certified birth certificate, passport).
- Your Social Security number.
- $14.25 in permit fees.
At this point, you will take your permit test, which will be multiple-choice. Take your time, relax and do your very best. You’ve studied for this, and now is your time to shine.
When you pass the permit test, you will be given a vision test to make sure you can see properly.
Start Your Required Driving Practice
While holding your permit, the state of Minnesota requires that you complete six hours of behind-the-wheel training with a professional driving instructor. You will also need to do 30 hours of training under the supervision of your parent or guardian, with 10 of those hours occurring at night.
When you are 16 years old, you have held your permit for at least six months and you have completed all the required practice driving, you can apply for your Provisional License. When you’re ready, call your local DVS testing center and make an appointment to take the driving test.
On the day of your test, be sure to bring:
- Your parent or legal guardian.
- Signed proof that you completed your driving practice and professional instruction.
- Your two identification documents.
- $17.25 in license fees.
Now, you will take your behind-the-wheel driving test, which will check how well you can maintain control over your vehicle and observe traffic law. Relax and do your best. With all the practice you’ve done so far, the test should be a breeze.
After you pass, you will receive your Provisional License, which involves a few restrictions:
- For the first six months, you may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or above. There is an exception for driving between work, school and home.
- For the first six months, you may only carry one passenger under the age of 20 who isn’t a family member.
- After six months, you may carry three passengers under the age of 20.
- You and all your passengers must wear safety belts at all times.
- You may not use a cell phone while driving except to dial 911 in an emergency situation.
Note: You must log an additional 10 hours of supervised practice driving while holding your Provisional License if you plan on applying for your full license before the age of 18.
When you turn 18 or have held your Provisional License for at least one year (whichever comes first), you can visit the DVS and apply for your full license. You will not need to do any more testing at this time, but if you are under 18, you will need to show signed proof that you completed your 10 additional practice hours.
Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.
There is no fee for the first two attempts at the permit test. Your third try and beyond will cost $10 each.
There is no fee for the first two attempts at the behind-the-wheel driving test. Your third try and beyond will cost $20 each.
The state of Minnesota prohibits any driver from texting or checking the Internet while driving.