Mississippi Permit and Driver's License

  • Applying for Your MS License
  • Preparing for the MS Permit Test
  • Taking the MS Permit Test
  • Preparing for the MS Driving Test
  • Taking the MS Driving Test
  • Renewing Your MS License
Close all

Applying for Your MS License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Mississippi has instituted a Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program to allow teen drivers to gain experience without being subjected to all the risks that are associated with first-time drivers. The age requirements and stages of the program are:

14 years old – Limited Learner’s Permit
15 years old – Learner’s Permit
16 years old – Intermediate Driver’s License
17 years old – Full Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Mississippi?

  • Application form (signed by parent or legal guardian)
  • Social Security Card
  • Birth certificate (original or certified copy)
  • 2 proofs of domicile – for more information visit the Mississippi DPS website
  • Education attendance form or DL-Application Supplement Under 17
  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment
  • $7 for Learner’s Permit fee

Where do I file my MS driver’s license application?

You will file your application at a local office of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS).

How can I contact my local office?

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

The state of Mississippi requires enrollment in a driver’s education course if you are 14 and what to obtain a Limited Learner’s Permit.

What if I am new to Mississippi?

If you move to Mississippi with a valid driver’s license from another state, you can transfer your license to Mississippi by visiting the local DPS office. You’ll have to take a vision test and possibly a written test and a road test. You have 60 days to transfer your license after establishing residency in Mississippi.

Close all

Preparing for the MS Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Mississippi’s written permit test includes questions on traffic laws, road signs and defensive driving strategies and techniques. Questions are drawn from the state driver’s manual. Here are a couple of examples of content from the driver’s manual that you might be questioned on:

  • The stopping distance when traveling 60 mph in good weather conditions and on dry pavement is 264 feet.
  • Any driver under the age of 21 who registers a blood alcohol content of .02% or greater but less than .08% falls under the guidelines of the state’s zero tolerance initiative.

How is the test formatted?

Mississippi offers a computerized, multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions on the test are drawn from the Mississippi Driver’s Manual and are not meant to trick you but rather to verify your driving knowledge. If you study the driver’s manual thoroughly you should not be surprised or “tricked” by any of the questions.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 30 questions on the written permit test and you must answer at least 24 of them correctly to pass (that means you need to get an 80% or higher).

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study the Mississippi Driver’s Manual – all five sections – and be sure to pay attention to any distances, measurements, statistics and other numerical information that is presented in the guide. You should also take practice tests to get a better idea of your level of knowledge and to identify areas of the manual that you need to study more.

Where can I get a free Mississippi Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer the driver’s manual for free.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The best approach is to study the content in the Mississippi Driver’s Manual as much as possible. Get to know this book forward and backward and you should have no problem when taking the test. To verify that you are retaining the information you are studying, take practice tests. These test results are a great way to ensure you are on the right track and to identify areas that you need to focus more study time on.

What should I do the night before the test?

If you have been studying regularly leading up to the test then all you will need to do is a general review of the driver’s manual, maybe take a practice test or two and then be sure to get to bed early so that you are rested for the test the next day. Also, be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to the test so that you don’t run late or if you have an appointment miss it.

Close all

Taking the MS Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Call your local office to see if appointments are accepted and if they are it is recommended that you schedule one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a DPS office near you.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Application form (signed by parent or legal guardian)
  • Social Security Card
  • Birth certificate (original or certified copy)
  • 2 proofs of domicile – for more information visit the Mississippi DPS website
  • Education attendance form or DL-Application Supplement Under 17
  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment
  • $7 for Learner’s Permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $7.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 30 questions drawn from the Mississippi Driver’s Manual. The manual is divided into five sections and you may see questions taken from any of the sections. The sections are: your license to drive; rules of the road; safe driving practices; legal procedures and driver responsibilities; regulations for Class D commercial driver. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the driver’s manual.

What happens after I pass the written test?

If you are 14 years old, you will receive a Limited Learner’s Permit which entitles you to drive in a driver’s education vehicle while being accompanied by a driver’s education instructor.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How many times can I retake the written test?

If you fail three knowledge tests, you must wait 30 days before taking the test again.

Close all

Preparing for the MS Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

At 15 years of age, you can upgrade to a regular Learner’s Permit which will allow you to drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for an Intermediate License?

After holding your Learner’s Permit for one full year and reaching the age of at least 16 ½ years old, you can apply for your intermediate driver’s license.

Can I drive anywhere in MS with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you can practice driving on any public road or street in Mississippi. Remember, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

Experts recommend that you also practice at night to get used to the different conditions associated with night driving.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Mississippi Learner’s Permit?

To replace a lost permit, visit a local DPS office and provide the proper identification documents.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Be sure to practice both common vehicle maneuvers – such as parking, stopping, starting and backing – as well as driving defensively in traffic. This means you need to practice, among other things, changing lanes, following at a safe distance, checking your mirrors, signaling and more.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Commonly tested maneuvers include parking, either into a parking space or parallel parking; turns, including a three-point turn; coming to a full stop; accelerating; driving smoothly; and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Be sure to practice all of the following: executing right and left turns; making safe, smooth stops; backing properly; parking and stopping on a hill; parallel parking; and doing a turn- about.

Also, when driving be sure to maintain good posture, use your signals and maintain control of the car.

In addition, keep a good attitude toward pedestrians and obey warning signs, stop signs, and traffic lights.

Close all

Taking the MS Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local DPS office.

hat should I bring to the driving test?

  • Application form (signed by parent or legal guardian)
  • Learner’s Permit
  • Social Security Card
  • Birth certificate (original or certified copy)
  • 2 proofs of domicile – for more information visit the Mississippi DPS website
  • Education attendance form or DL-Application Supplement Under 17
  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment
  • $11 for fee

You will also need a properly functioning automobile with an inspection certificate, registration and proof of insurance.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you to the test.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be evaluated on such things as your control of the vehicle; your ability to parallel park; your ability to park on a hill; your response to traffic and road conditions as well as traffic signs and signals; your ability to signal and perform turns; and your observation of pedestrians and other drivers.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Reasons for failure include nerves, failure to follow instructions, speeding, lack of practice, insufficient skill at making necessary maneuvers, such as parallel parking and more.

What are five things I should be sure to do when taking the driving test?

  • Listen to the examiner’s instructions
  • Observe traffic signs and signals
  • Obey the speed limit
  • Stop at or before stop signs and intersections instead of going over the line
  • Signal when turning

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the driving test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day, though it is recommended that you take time to practice and improve your driving so that you don’t make the same mistakes.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Intermediate Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Mississippi license?

You can drive unsupervised only between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. Sunday – Thursday and 6 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday. You can drive at any time when driving to/from work.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in MS?

All drivers in Mississippi are required to have liability insurance, which provides coverage to the other car/driver when an accident is your fault. Mississippi requires the following minimum insurance coverage: bodily injury – $25,000 per person; bodily injury – $50,000 per accident; and property damage – $25,000.

Close all

Renewing Your MS License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

A Mississippi driver’s license is valid for either 4 or 8 years. Before yours expires, you will receive a renewal letter with instructions, including whether you are able to renew online, by mail or in person.

To replace a lost or stolen license, visit a local DPS office and provide the proper identification documents.

Where can I renew my Mississippi driver’s license?

You may be able to renew your license online, by mail or in person. Your renewal notice will contain renewal instructions.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

No, you will not need to take a vision test when renewing your license. You only have to take the vision test when first applying for your permit or license. If that eye test shows that you need glasses to improve your vision, you must arrange to have your eyes tested by an eye specialist or optometrist. You will be given an eye form (DE26) to be filled out by your eye specialist or optometrist.


The Mississippi DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Tired of walking, taking public transportation, or asking for rides from friends and family? Isn’t it time you got your Mississippi learner’s permit and explored the state on your own terms?

But before you can get your learner’s permit, you will need to pass the Mississippi permit test.  The test is administered by the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Licensing (MVL) and is designed to determine if you possess the knowledge of important state driving laws, road signs, and safe driving practices.

Get the Practice You Need With MS DMV Practice Tests

Don’t make the same mistake most do when taking the permit test.  It’s quite common that most people simply take the test for granted and don’t prepare.  In fact, state statistics have revealed that nearly 50% fail the exam every year.

We want you to successfully pass your test. And we’ve meticulously prepared a collection of effective study resources to help.  Here, you’ll find our free interactive Mississippi practice permit test and the official Mississippi Driver’s Manual. Used together they are a great first step towards preparing for the exam.  Need to get a motorcycle permit?  You’ll find resources for the motorcycle written test as well.