Nebraska Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your NE License
  • Preparing for the NE Permit Test
  • Taking the NE Permit Test
  • Preparing for the NE Driving Test
  • Taking the NE Driving Test
  • Renewing Your NE License
Close all

Applying for Your NE License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Nebraska’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program for teen drivers requires them to progress through a series of levels to receive their full unrestricted license. Here are the age requirements for each level:

  • 14 years old to 16 years old – School Learner’s Permit (LPE)
  • 14 years, 2 months old to 16 years, 3 months old – School Permit (SCP)
  • 60 days prior to turning 15 years old – Learner’s Permit (LPD)
  • 60 days prior to turning 16 years old – Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP)

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Nebraska?

When applying for the Nebraska LPE, you will need to bring:

  • 1 proof of identity
  • 2 proofs of address
  • Social Security Number

The Nebraska DMV website contains a full list of acceptable documents.

Where do I file my NE driver’s license application?

You will file your application at a local Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/map.html to find office locations statewide.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Nebraska requires teen drivers to either complete a driver safety course or 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 21 or older.

What if I am new to Nebraska?

Teens moving to Nebraska with an out-of-state license may transfer that license to Nebraska by visiting a local DMV office, surrendering their valid out-of-state license, showing proof of identity and residency, passing written and driving tests, if required and paying a fee that is dependent on the length of the license.

Close all

Preparing for the NE Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Nebraska written knowledge test covers traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques. Test questions are drawn from the content of the state Driver’s Manual. Here are two examples of manual content that you could be tested on:

  • Diamond shaped signs warn of special conditions or hazards ahead. Drivers should slow and proceed with caution.
  • When parking on hills, if your vehicle is facing uphill and there is a curb, set the parking brake and turn the wheels away from the curb. In any other situation, turn the wheels toward the curb or edge of the road.

How is the test formatted?

The test is given in multiple choice format where each question has a set of possible answers and you must choose the correct one.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no questions designed specifically to trick you. The questions are meant solely to test your knowledge of the rules of the road for driving in Nebraska. If you study the Nebraska Driver’s Manual enough, no question on the test should surprise you.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Nebraska written test contains 25 questions and you must answer 20 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study the Nebraska Driver’s Manual as much as possible. You should also take practice tests to ensure that you are remembering the content you are studying and to identify any weak areas that you need to devote more study time to.

Where can I get a free Nebraska Driver’s Manual to study?

Nebraska Driver’s Manuals are offered for free on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

As you study the Nebraska Driver’s Manual try to memorize numerical data such as lengths, measurements and distances as this information is commonly tested for on the exam. You should also take practice tests to ensure that you are study the right material and to identify areas that you need to study more.

What should I do the night before the test?

You should review the Driver’s Manual and take a practice test or two to ensure your knowledge. Then plan on getting a good night’s sleep so that you are rested and ready for the test the next day. Before the test, eat a good, healthy meal so that you are feeling energized. Also, be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to the test so that you are not feeling rushed and stressed, which can negatively impact your test performance.

Close all

Taking the NE Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

If your local DMV office takes appointments, it is recommended that you make one to avoid a lengthy wait.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at the local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

When applying for the Nebraska LPE, you will need to bring:

  • 1 proof of identity
  • 2 proofs of address
  • Social Security Number

The Nebraska DMV website contains a full list of acceptable documents.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, the fee for the LPE Learner’s Permit is $10.50.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 25 questions and you must answer at least 20 of them correctly to pass. The questions are drawn from the state Driver’s Manual and will cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the Driver’s Manual itself. Here is a practice test formatted like the real Nebraska test.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit (LPE) which allows you to drive while supervised by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What happens if I fail the written test?

If you fail the written test, you will be allowed to retake it.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You can retake it as soon as the next business day. If you fail the test several times in a row the examiner will tell you when you can retake it.

Close all

Preparing for the NE Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Before you receive your Nebraska School Permit (SCP) you must hold your LPE for at least two months and complete either a driver safety course or log 50 hours of supervised driving practice.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

The LPE Learner’s Permit allows you to practice driving to earn your Nebraska School Permit (SCP), which allows you to drive to and from school. After receiving your SCP, you can earn a Nebraska Learner’s Permit (LPE) which allows you to practice driving. When you complete a driver safety course or 50 hours of behind the wheel driver’s training, you can apply for your Provisional Operator’s Permit, which will allow you to drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and midnight.

Can I drive anywhere in Nebraska with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can drive on any public Nebraska road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, Nebraska requires new drivers completed at least 10 of their required 50 hours of driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older when you are driving.

What should I do if I have a lost Nebraska Learner’s Permit?

You can get a duplicate in person at your local DMV office. You will need to provide proper identification and pay a $13.50 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

As you log more practice time behind the wheel you will become more comfortable with driving in general and with executing the specific maneuvers, such as turns, parking and backing up, that you need to be able to perform to pass the test. You should also continue to study the state driver’s manual and use the safe driving methods that are described on its pages.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Maneuvers commonly tested on the driving exam include turns, changing lanes, backing up, parking, accelerating, stopping, signaling and defensive driving.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Be sure to practice all of the following: starting and stopping; right and left turns; lane usage and position; stop signs and traffic signals; speed control; use of right of way; hazard identification and response; and parking and backing.

Close all

Taking the NE Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Visit https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/map.html to find contact information for a driver’s license office near you.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local DMV office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Proper identification
  • Proof of 50 hours of supervised driving practice
  • $17.50 for the Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP) application fee
  • A vehicle that is in good mechanical condition
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance

Please note, if you have completed a driver safety course the Nebraska DMV will waive the driving test (as well as the written test which is required at each step of the GDL program).

Who should bring me to the driving test?

You should be accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the driving test you will be required to complete a maneuver course that includes such things as starting and stopping; right and left turns; parking; backing; and more. You will also need to drive in traffic where you will judged on lane usage and position; reaction to stop signs and traffic signals; speed control; use of right of way; hazard identification and response; and more.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Nerves are a common reason for failure. Be sure to stay calm, listen to the examiner and pay attention to what is happening around your vehicle. Other common reasons for failure include having an accident and making a series of smaller mistakes such as failing to signal and driving too fast.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not paying attention to the examiner
  • Failing to respond to traffic signals and signs
  • Turning at too high of a speed
  • Following the vehicle in front of you too closely
  • Not parking with the wheels turned the right way toward the curb

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next business day though it is recommended that you take some time to practice.

How many times can I retake the test?

If you fail the test three times you will be required to show completion of a driver safety course or possession of a new LPD for 90 days.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

In approximately 30 days you will receive your provisional license via the US Mail at the address you provided to the Driver Licensing staff.

What restrictions come with a Nebraska license?

With a provisional license you can:

  • Drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. and midnight
  • Drive unsupervised between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. only for work or school purposes
  • Drive anytime while accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older
  • Drive with only one passenger younger than 19 years old who is not an immediate family member

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in Nebraska?

Nebraska is a “fault” state, which means drivers injured in an accident have a few options, they can file a claim under their own insurance, file a third party claim with insurer of the driver who caused the accident or file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.

All Nebraska drivers are required to carry at a minimum: $25,000 for bodily injury to one person in a crash; $50,000 for bodily injury in a crash if more than one person is hurt; and $25,000 in property damage coverage.

Close all

Renewing Your NE License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

If you need to renew your license, the Nebraska DMV will send you a renewal notice approximately 90 days before your license’s expiration date. You can renew your license up to 90 days before its expiration if you are 21 years or older.

You can get a duplicate in person at your local DMV office. You will need to provide proper identification and pay a $13.50 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Nebraska driver’s license?

You can renew your Nebraska license online or in person at a DMV office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If renewing in person, you will need to take the eye test. If the test standards are not met, either an ophthalmologist or optometrist will be required to check the findings. Applicants who cannot meet the minimum vision standards will be denied a license. If corrective lenses are needed to meet the standards, they must be worn at all times while driving, and the license issued will indicate this.


The Nebraska DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Tired of relying on others to get around? Getting your Nebraska drivers license is a major step towards your own independence and freedom. But before you can be issued a Nebraska learners permit and hit the open road, Nebraska’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that you first pass the driver’s knowledge test.  More commonly known as the permit test, this test is designed to verify your knowledge of traffic signals and signs, safe driving practices, and other important rules of the road.

Conquer the Exam With NE DMV Practice Permit Tests

Nobody wants to fail the permit test. Why take that chance?  Set yourself apart by preparing for the exam.  With a little preparation and practice, you’ll leave the testing office with license in hand.

Here, you’ll find a list of our NE permit test study resources, including our free Nebraska practice permit test and a copy of the official Nebraska Driver’s Manual.  Getting a motorcycle permit? We offer solutions to help you with that exam too.  No matter what test you are taking, there’s simply no substitute for being prepared.  Take advantage of our study material and you’ll be one step closer to getting safely behind the wheel.