New Jersey Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your NJ License
  • Preparing for the NJ Permit Test
  • Taking the NJ Permit Test
  • Preparing for the NJ Driving Test
  • Taking the NJ Driving Test
  • Renewing Your NJ License
Close all

Applying for Your NJ License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL) is designed to help teen driver’s gain driving experience while minimizing risk. Age requirements and levels of the program are:

  • 16 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 17 years old – Examination Permit
  • 17 years old – Probationary Driver’s License
  • 18 years old – Unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in New Jersey?

You will need to provide:

  • Identification – here are acceptable documents
  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment
  • Letter of consent from parent or legal guardian
  • $10 permit fee

Where do I file my NJ driver’s license application?

You will file your application at an office of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Location/index.htm to find office locations and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, New Jersey requires teen drivers to complete a driver’s education course. The course must include at least six hours of behind the wheel training and coverage of proper vehicle operation, defensive driving and state traffic laws.

What if I am new to New Jersey?

Those younger than 18 cannot transfer an out-of-state license to New Jersey; instead you will be required to complete the New Jersey GDL.

Close all

Preparing for the NJ Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The New Jersey written test is based on the content of the state Driver’s Manual and includes questions on traffic laws, road signs and safe driving practices. Here are two examples of content from the manual that you could be tested on:

  • A motorist who is convicted of a DUI offense must install an ignition interlock device in any motor vehicle they own, lease or operate during and after the entire period for which their driving privilege is suspended.
  • The MVC keeps track of a motorist’s driving record by adding points to the record when the motorist is convicted of a moving violation. The more serious the violation, the more points the motorist is given.

How is the test formatted?

The test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

Questions on the New Jersey written test have not been written to trick you. Instead, they are designed to thoroughly test your knowledge of state traffic laws and road signs as well as safe driving methods. If you study the driver’s manual enough you should not find any question to be “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

A two-pronged approach that features extensive study of the driver’s manual and taking online practice tests has been shown to be very effective. When you take a practice test, be sure to carefully go over the results so that you can get an idea of what you know and what you need to study more.

Where can I get a free New Jersey Driver’s Manual to study?

The New Jersey Driver’s Manual is offered for free on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The best approach is to set aside plenty of study time so that you are become very well versed in the content that is presented in the driver’s manual. You should also take practice tests to familiarize yourself with the test format and to identify weak areas that you need to study more.

What should I do the night before the test?

If you have studied the driver’s manual thoroughly in advance you may not need to do much at all this night. Maybe you should do a quick review of the manual and/or take a practice test or two but your focus should be more on getting a good night’s rest so that you are at your best come test time the next day.

Close all

Taking the NJ Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local MVC office to see if appointments are accepted and, if they are, it is recommended that you make one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local MVC office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

You should bring:

  • Identification – here are acceptable documents
  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment
  • Letter of consent from parent or legal guardian
  • $10 permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $10.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written knowledge test contains 50 questions on traffic laws, road signs and safe driving principles. It also has a survey about organ donation. You can miss up to 10 questions and still pass the test. When you take the test you cannot refer to any notes or the state driver’s manual. The test can be given in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit.

What happens if I fail the written test?

If you fail the written test, you will be allowed to retake it.

How soon can I retake the test?

You can take it as soon as the following day if you wish.

Close all

Preparing for the NJ Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit, which will allow you to drive as long as you are accompanied by a NJ-licensed driver who is 21 or older and has at least three years of driving experience.

You cannot drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m. and you also may only have one passenger in addition to the supervising driver.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must practice supervised driving for at least six months before applying for your license.

Note: Drivers who are 17 years old or over, can bypass the student learner permit and apply for an examination permit. Then after holding the permit for six months if under 21 or three months if 21 or over they can apply for their license.

Can I drive anywhere in New Jersey with my Learner’s Permit?

You can drive on any New Jersey public road or street as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or above and has at least three years of driving experience.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

Experts recommend that you also drive some at night to get used to the varying conditions between night and daytime driving.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or above and has at least three years of driving experience.

What should I do if I have a lost New Jersey Learner’s Permit?

If under 17, contact your driver’s ed instructor. If over 17, go to a local MVC office, present identification and pay a $3 fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Practice as much as possible. Be sure to listen to your supervising driver and try to implement their suggestions. Also, read the state driver’s manual and try to follow its safe driving tips. The key is to get as much time behind the wheel as possible so that you feel more and more comfortable and are able to perform common maneuvers with more and more skill.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice driving in reverse, following other vehicles, parallel parking, steering properly with hands in the correct position, turning and turning around, stopping at signs and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should practice both completing maneuvers and driving in traffic as you will be required to do both on the test. Maneuvers you should be skilled at include parking, turning and backing up. When driving in traffic you should show good defensive driving skills and obey all road signs and signals.

Close all

Taking the NJ Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Visit https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Location/index.htm to find an office near you and that office’s contact information.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local MVC office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • A well-maintained vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Learner’s Permit

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

The New Jersey driving test will require you to complete a series of maneuvers, such as parallel parking, reversing, turning, turning around, and stopping and starting. You will also need to drive in traffic where you will be expected to obey road signs and follow proper defensive driving techniques.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Common reasons for failure range from nerves to a lack of practice to having an accident. To ensure you pass be sure to get lots of practice and to be calm and confident when you take the test. Also, be sure to listen to the examiner and follow his or her instructions.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not obeying a road sign
  • Not reacting properly to a road hazard
  • Not using proper hand position on the wheel
  • Not paying attention to speed and going too fast
  • Not listening to the examiner’s instructions

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You will be allowed to retake the driving test.

How soon can I retake the driving test?

You will have to wait two weeks to retake it after the first failure. If you fail a second time you may be required to wait at least six months to retake it again.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your New Jersey Provisional Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a New Jersey license?

You are allowed to drive unsupervised. You must not use electronic devices, including cell phones, while driving and you must always wear a seat belt.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in New Jersey?

Auto insurance is mandatory in the state of New Jersey. Drivers who do not have insurance are breaking the law and risk fines, suspension of driver’s license or registration and even jail time.

According to state law, drivers must have liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured motorist coverage. For more information, visit the MVC website.

Close all

Renewing Your NJ License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew your driver’s license in person or by mail. Renewal requirements differ according to whether your license is valid, suspended, lost, stolen or damaged.

To replace a lost license, you need to go to a local MVC office, complete a Driver’s License application, provide identification and pay an $11 fee.

Where can I renew my New Jersey driver’s license?

You can renew your New Jersey license in person at a local MVC office or by mail.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

No, you will not be required to take a vision test. However, periodically the MVC can require a vision recheck. If you do not pass this vision test, the MVC may refer you to a physician for further testing and a restriction for corrective lenses may be added to your license.


The New Jersey MVC Test — What You Need to Know

Once you get your New Jersey learners permit, you’ll no longer need to wait on friends or family for a ride again.   But before the state of New Jersey will issue you your own learners permit, you’ll need to pass the state permit test.

New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) is responsible for administering the permit test and has testing offices throughout the state.  The permit test features multiple-choice questions designed to determine your awareness of safe driving rules, signs, signals, state motor vehicle laws, and rules of the road.

Eliminate Surprises With NJ MVC Practice Tests

Statistics have reported that over 70% of people fail the permit test every year. Those who fail, often believe they already “know how to drive.”   Failing the test means having to return to the MVC office and take the exam all over again.  Who has time for that?

Take advantage of the study resources on this page to help develop the confidence and knowledge you’ll need on test day. Our sample interactive New Jersey practice permit tests are designed to give you a feel for the official test format. You’ll also find the official New Jersey Driver’s Handbook. Interested in a motorcycle permit?  We have resources to help you pass the motorcycle permit test too.

You’ll find all the tools you need to begin preparing for the New Jersey permit test here.  Let us help you to prepare properly and before you know it, you’ll be enjoying the freedom of the open road.