north-dakota-road-signPreparing for the the North Dakota permit test doesn’t have be stressful. Use this step by step guide to get an overview of the process from permit to license and begin preparing for the exam.

To get started on the path to a drivers license in North Dakota, you will need to become familiar with the state’s Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-step process that helps young drivers gain important skills and experience while remaining under supervision. GDL programs have been shown to reduce the number of traffic accidents caused by a lack of awareness and practice on the road.

In North Dakota, the GDL process includes three different stages:

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Restricted License
  • Full License

In this guide, we will show you how to pass the North Dakota permit test and complete the other stages of the GDL so you can go on to become a fully licensed driver.  Let’s get started!

Learner’s Permit

When you are 14 years old, you qualify to apply for your Learner’s Permit in North Dakota. To do so, you must pass a written exam (also known as the permit test) that will check how well you’ve studied the rules of the road. You will also be required to pass a vision test.

Study, Study, Study

If you want to pass the permit test on your first try, there is nothing more important than to study hard. We have a free copy of the North Dakota Driver’s Handbook for you to use in your studies, and you can ask for a physical copy by visiting your local North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) offices.

Practice Exams are a Valuable Resource

Don’t miss out on one of the best methods for study: taking practice exams. Our North Dakota practice permit test covers most of the material you will find on the real exam, and after you have passed it a few times, you will feel more prepared for the real thing.

Visit any NDDOT Testing Location and Take Your Tests

When you feel ready, visit the testing location and bring:

  • A completed application for a permit, signed by your parent or guardian.
  • Your Social Security number.
  • Proof of identification and residency.
  • $5 in testing fees.

At this point, you will be given the written permit test. It is multiple choice, so if nothing else, you can try to guess the best answer. Often times, one or even two of the answers will be obviously incorrect, allowing you to use logic to find the right choice. However, as long as you studied and took practice exams, you shouldn’t have any problems.

When you pass the written exam and the vision test, you will be given your North Dakota Learner’s Permit.

Begin Your Practice Driving

To complete this phase of the GDL process, you must sign up for a state-approved driver’s education course through the Department of Public Instruction. You must also do at least 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of a licensed parent or guardian. The practice driving must include time spent driving at night, driving in bad weather and driving on rural roads formed from dirt or gravel.

Restricted License

When you are 15 years old, you have completed your practice driving, you have passed your driver’s education course, and you have held your permit for at least a year without accumulating six or more points on your driving record or having any alcohol-related offenses, you will be allowed to apply for your Restricted License. To do so, you will need to pass a simple behind-the-wheel driving test.

When you feel ready, make an appointment with a NDDOT testing location. On the test day, bring along:

  • A parent or guardian (not required if you are over 16).
  • Your driver’s education certificate (also not required if you are over 16).
  • $5 in testing fees.

The test will check how well you control the car and observe the rules of the road. You also may be required to parallel park, which is difficult for many drivers. If this is something you struggle with, be sure to practice ahead of time.

When you pass the test, you will be given your Restricted License. If you are age 16 or under, it comes with some limitations:

  • You may only drive a vehicle belonging to your parent, guardian, grandparent, sibling, aunt or uncle.
  • You may not drive between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed adult age 18 or older, or when traveling for work, school or religious purposes.

Driver’s License

When you turn 16 and have completed all of the phases of the GDL, the restrictions will be removed from your license. You don’t need to do anything else at this time. Simply go on to enjoy being a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

NDDOT sticks to a strict point system. This means that if you are under the age of 18, and you receive more than six points on your license due to traffic violations, your license will be suspended. Be sure to remember all of the information that you studied and drive as carefully as possible!