texas

Select Your Free 2021 Texas Practice Permit Test to Get Started

Select Your Free 2021 Texas Practice Permit Test to Get Started
Did you know that the majority of people fail the Texas permit test every year?  That’s right, statistics reveal that 2 out of 3 people walk away from the DMV office empty-handed. You don’t have to be one of them. By taking advantage of the carefully prepared study material, you’ll be ready to begin preparing for your TX permit test. Our sample interactive Texas practice permit tests allow you to get a bit of practice in while getting a better understanding of the official exam format. You’ll also appreciate having instant access to the official Texas Driver’s Handbook.  It’s a solid reference that works well with the practice tests.  Need a motorcycle permit?  We have study resources to tackle that exam too.  Make a resolution right now to prepare for your Texas permit test and before you know it, you’ll be enjoying the freedom of the open road. Care to guess how long it takes to drive across the state of Texas? About 12 hours to cover 816 miles. That’s a big state. But before you can explore this vast state you will need your Texas learner’s permit or driver’s license. Whether you are getting a learners permit or a drivers license you know just how important being a licensed driver is to your future. All residents of Texas looking to become licensed drivers must first pass the state’s written knowledge exam. To begin preparing for the exam, start testing your knowledge with our free practice tests. You’ll quickly discover any gaps in your knowledge and get a feel for the real thing.

Permit Practice Tests (155 questions)

  • Questions 1-41
    Practice Test 1

    Quickly test your knowledge of the rules of the road with this TX DMV Practice Test. Challenge yourself with 40 multiple-choice questions with the same format as the real exam.

  • Questions 42-82
    Practice Test 2

    Test your knowledge of Texas driving laws even further with TX DMV Practice Permit Test 2. This powerful practice test offers more practice test questions to ensure you pass.

  • Questions 83-123
    Practice Test 3

    Ready to test your knowledge even further? You get 40 additional practice test questions with this challenging TX DMV Practice Test. Taking multiple practice tests is the key to success.

  • Questions 124-166
    Practice Test 4

    Before you rush off to take your exam, it’s important that you get as much practice as possible. Test your knowledge even further with this popular Texas DMV practice test.

  • Questions 167-216
    Road Signs Test

    This practice test will test your knowledge of various road signs and their meanings.  Learn how to identify road signs by shape and color.

  • 50 random questions
    DMV Test Simulator

    Get a feel for the real exam before you visit your local DMV office. Designed to simulate the real test with randomized questions, no explanations, and new questions every time.

  • All 155 questions
    Endurance Test

    Think you’re ready to head to your local Texas DMV office with just a few practice tests under your belt? Not so fast! This test features a massive 150 questions to help ensure success.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

  • Questions 1-25
    Motorcycle Test 1

    Take our TX Motorcycle Practice Test 1 to prepare to pass the state written motorcycle test. You need to answer at least 20 of the 25 questions correctly to pass. Get started.

  • Questions 26-50
    Motorcycle Test 2

    With the TX Motorcycle Practice Test Two you get 25 more questions on motorcycle operation, control and safety. Start your review by taking the test now.

  • Questions 51-75
    Motorcycle Test 3

    Test your motorcycle knowledge and prepare for the state motorcycle written test with our TX Motorcycle Practice Test Three. Find out what you need to study by taking it now.

  • Questions 76-100
    Motorcycle Test 4

    Get even more practice for the state written motorcycle test with our powerful TX Motorcycle Practice Test 4. This test contains 25 more questions to test your knowledge. Take it.

  • All 100 questions
    Motorcycle Endurance Test

    Prepare for the Texas motorcycle permit test with this comprehensive practice test featuring the largest number of questions we have for Texas. Test your knowledge and endurance now!

  • Texas DMV Handbook 2021

    The Texas Drivers Handbook is a powerful study tool to help you begin preparing for the Texas permit or license test. Get your FREE copy here!

  • Texas DMV Motorcycle Handbook 2021

    The Texas Motorcycle Manual is a powerful study aid to help you begin preparing for the Texas motorcycle license test. Get your free copy here!

Texas Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your TX License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Texas has instituted a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) that requires first-time teen drivers to progress through a series of stages to obtain their full, unrestricted driver’s license. The stages and age levels are:

  • Driver’s Education – 14 years old
  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Provisional License – under 18 years old
  • Full, Unrestricted License – 18 years old

Also, at 15 years old teens that meet the state’s hardship requirement are eligible for a Minor Restricted Driver’s License (MRDL), which is also known as a “hardship license.”

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Texas?

  • Proof of identity, Social Security Number and residency – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • Driver education completion certificate
  • Verification of school enrollment/attendance
  • Form DL-14A (Application for Texas Driver’s License)
  • $16 for fee

Where do I file my TX driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at any driver license office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_control/rolodex/search.asp for office locations, hours and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, Texas requires all first-time drivers age 24 and younger to complete a driver’s education course before receiving their license.

What if I am new to Texas?

Teens who are under 18 years of age and who have a license or permit from another state are eligible to receive a Texas license after taking a driving test. You do not have to take the knowledge test.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Texas written knowledge test has questions covering traffic laws, road signs and safe driving practices. All questions are taken from the Texas Drivers Handbook. Here are two examples of content from that handbook that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • When approaching a railroad grade crossing, you should stop between 15 and 50 feet from the nearest rail if a clearly visible railroad signal warns of an approaching train
  • Always signal when you are going to change lanes, make a turn, and pull away from a parking space parallel to the curb

How is the test formatted?

The Texas test is presented in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no “trick questions” per se. All questions are drawn from the Texas Drivers Handbook and are designed to determine if you have the knowledge necessary to drive safely. Obviously, the less you study the handbook the more “tricky” the questions may seem. In other words, study the handbook enough and you shouldn’t nave any problems on the test.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the test and you must answer at least 18 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should study the Texas Drivers Handbook and take practice tests to verify your understanding of the material. You can use the practice tests to identify weak areas so that you can then adjust your study efforts to focus on those areas.

Where can I get a free Texas Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free Texas Drivers Handbook on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

When studying the handbook, try to memorize numerical data such as measurements, lengths, speed limits, etc. You should also be sure to study the alcohol and drug content so that you know their effects on driving and the punishment for driving while on them. To assess your current driving knowledge, take a practice test online.

What should I do the night before the test?

Provided you have been studying regularly, then you should plan on doing a light review, completing a practice test and then being sure to get a good night’s sleep so that you are rested and ready for the test the following day.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local driver license office to see if appointments are accepted and, if they are, it is recommended that you make one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local driver license office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Proof of identity, Social Security Number and residency – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • Driver education completion certificate
  • Verification of school enrollment/attendance
  • Form DL-14A (Application for Texas Driver’s License)
  • $16 for fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian, who will need to give their consent for you to receive your permit.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $16.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written test will contain 25 questions and you can miss up to seven and still pass. The questions will cover content from the Texas Drivers Handbook, such as traffic laws, other rules of the road, road signs and safe driving methods. You cannot refer to any notes or the drivers handbook when taking the test. Here is a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You need to complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with a supervising driver age 21 or older. In addition, 10 of those 30 practice hours must be completed at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day.

How many times can I retake the written test?

Should you fail the test three times you will need to begin the permit process all over again.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Once you have earned your Learner’s Permit, you can begin supervised driving practice with a licensed driver age 21 or older. You must log 30 hours of driving practice in all, with at least 10 of those hours completed at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

Once you have held your permit for six months, have completed your 30 hours of driving practice and are at least 16 years old, you can apply for a Provisional Driver’s License.

Can I drive anywhere in Texas with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a driver who is 21 or over, you can drive on any Texas public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 30 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or over.

What should I do if I have a lost Texas Learner’s Permit?

To replace a lost or stolen permit, visit your local driver license office with proper identification. You will also need $11 for the permit replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

You should study the Texas Drivers Handbook and be sure to apply the safe driving principles when applicable as you practice driving. You should be sure to practice common vehicle maneuvers, like parking, stopping and turning, as well as driving in traffic where you need to obey traffic signs and respond to traffic and pedestrians around you.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice parallel parking, quick stops, backing, turns, passing, following, proper lane observance and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should practice common vehicle maneuvers such as quick stops, turns, including a three-point turnabout, and parking in a parking space. You should also drive in traffic using defensive driving skills, such as checking mirrors, signaling for turns and following at a safe distance.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local driver license office to schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test a local driver license office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring all of the following:

  • A well-maintained vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of completed supervised driving practice
  • Identification

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

All drivers are graded based on four key skills:

  • Control of your vehicle – you are able to make the car do what you want it to do
  • Observation – you see what’s going on around you and respond accordingly
  • Positioning – you drive within your lane and maintain a safe following distance
  • Signaling – you use your turn signal when required

To determine that you meet all of the above requirements you may be asked to: parallel park, complete a three-point turn, make a quick stop, drive in traffic and more.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

The most common reasons for failure are violating the law, refusing to follow directions, driving dangerously or having a crash and making errors that add up to 30 points or more being deducted on the exam.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Using poor driving posture and/or incorrect hand position
  • Performing a rolling stop
  • Going over the speed limit
  • Failing to parallel park correctly
  • Failing to signal for a turn

What happens if I fail the driving test?

The examiner will explain what you did wrong and tell you when you can retake the exam.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

You can retake the test as soon as the next business day but should take time to practice the skills you were unable to perform correctly during the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Provisional Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Texas license?

Provisional Driver’s License restrictions include:

  • Cannot drive from midnight to 5 a.m.
  • Cannot have more than one passenger under 21 who is not a family member

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in TX?

The state of Texas requires drivers to pay for any injuries and damages that result from an accident they cause. To fulfill this law, most drivers purchase liability automobile insurance. The state minimum coverage requirements are: $30,000 for each injured person; $60,000 for injuries per accident; and $25,000 for property damage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew a Texas Driver’s License up to one year before it expires and up to two years after it expires.

To replace a lost or stolen license, visit your local driver license office with proper identification. You will also need $11 for the license replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Texas driver’s license?

You will be sent a renewal notice before the license expiration date with instructions. You may be eligible to renew your license in person, online, by phone or by mail.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, Texas drivers are required to renew in person at least once every 12 years to take a vision test and to update their photo, signature and fingerprints.

To pass the Texas Vision test you need vision of 20/40 in both eyes if you don’t wear glasses or contact lenses. However, you will also face no restrictions to your license if you have 20/50 vision or better with your best eye or both eyes together and you have a note from an eye specialist indicating that your vision cannot be improved or repaired.

How to Get Your Texas Learner’s Permit in 2021

Are you ready to apply for your Texas driver’s license but you aren’t sure where to begin? If you feel overwhelmed and confused over the process of getting your license, you’re in luck. This easy-to-follow guide will help you become familiar with all the requirements along the way, from preparing for the permit test to applying for your full license.

The state of Texas requires that all teen drivers complete a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that keeps young drivers under supervision while they learn important driving skills. GDL programs have been shown to reduce traffic accidents caused by inexperienced drivers.

The Texas GDL program includes three unique stages:

  • Learner License
  • Provisional License
  • Full License

This guide will teach you how to prepare for the Texas permit test and eventually go on to earn unrestricted driving privileges.

Learner’s License

When you are 15 years old and enrolled in driver’s education, you can apply for your Learner License(or learner’s permit) in Texas. Your education requirement can be completed at a state-approved driving school, a public school, or, if you choose, you can have your parents teach you at home.

Before you can apply for your permit, you will need to pass a written knowledge test (or permit test), which will check your knowledge of the rules of the road. Certain driver’s education courses will give you a similar test as a part of their program, and if they do, you will not be required to take it again. If your course doesn’t offer this, you will need to take the test when you apply.

The Texas DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Today, more than ever, the ability to drive is essential.  Want to visit a friend across town or simply get to work?  You’ll need to first become a legally licensed driver. The first step towards freedom begins with passing the Texas permit test.

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all those looking to get a learners permit to first pass the permit test. The TX permit test is a written exam comprised of a series of multiple-choice questions all designed to determine if you’ve mastered the rules of the road, state traffic laws, road signs, and safety rules.

Study for The Test

To do well on your first try, you will need to devote plenty of time to study prior to taking the test. We offer a free copy of the Texas Driver’s Handbook for you to use, or you can request a physical copy by visiting the offices of the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS).

Take Advantage of Practice Exams

Thanks to the Internet, you have access to a valuable resource that those in past generations did not: practice tests. Our Texas practice permit test includes a lot of the same subject matter you will see on the real test, and taking it will greatly increase your chances of doing well.

Visit the TxDPS offices and Take Your Tests

When you feel your studies have prepared you and you have driver’s education squared away, visit the TxDPS offices, bringing along:

  • Your certified birth certificate, U.S. passport or other acceptable proof of identity.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Two proofs of Texas residency (utility bill, credit-card bill or other statement).
  • Form DE-964, which shows that you completed driver’s education, or the Driver Education Affidavit (Form DL-90A) and Classroom Instruction Log (Form DL-91A), which are required if you had your parents teach you instead.
  • A completed Verification of Enrollment and Attendance to show that you are in school (a requirement for teens to drive in Texas).
  • A completed Application for Texas Driver’s License (Form DL-14A) with your parent or guardian’s signature.
  • $16 in fees.
  • Your parent or guardian.

At this point, you will take the permit test if you haven’t already done so as a part of driver’s education. Try to stay calm and do your best. You’ve studied hard, and now is your time to shine! After you pass, you will also be given a vision test to make sure you can see well enough to drive.

Start Practicing

While holding your Learner License, you will be required to complete at least 30 hours of practice driving with 10 of those hours taking place at night. While you do this practice, a licensed driver age 21 or over must be sitting in the passenger seat next to you. Be nice to your parents: You need them to supervise you!

Provisional License

When you have had your permit for at least six months and have completed all of your practice driving, you are ready to take the behind-the-wheel road test and get your Provisional License.

Visit the TxDPS Offices to Take Your Road Test, bringing along:

  • Your parent or guardian.
  • Another form certifying your enrollment and attendance in school (you can’t use the same one again).
  • Your forms to show that you completed driver’s education and your practice-driving requirements.
  • $16 in fees.
  • A registered and insured vehicle to use for the exam.

Try to relax and do your best on the behind-the-wheel test, which will simply check how well you maintain control of your vehicle and observe traffic law. As long as you have been practicing hard, you are sure to do well.

When you pass your test, you will be given your Provisional License, which comes with a few limitations. Unless you are supervised by a licensed parent or guardian, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless traveling to and from work.
  • Transport more than one person under the age of 21 who isn’t a member of your immediate family.

Driver’s License

When you have held your Provisional License for a full year, the restrictions will be removed. Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

Texas has a zero-tolerance law that prohibits underage drinking. If you are caught with any amount of alcohol in your system, you will be at risk for losing your license. Think carefully about your choices!

Teens are not allowed to use electronic devices (even hands free) while driving.

If you choose to have your parents teach you driver’s education, you will need to contact the TxDPS purchase a Parent-Taught Driver Education Packet, which costs $20.