Vermont Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your VT License
  • Preparing for the VT Permit Test
  • Taking the VT Permit Test?
  • Preparing for the VT Driving Test
  • Taking the VT Driving Test
  • Renewing Your VT License
Close all

Applying for Your VT License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles has implemented a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) in an effort to keep teen drivers safe. The program has the following stages and age requirements:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 16 years old – Junior Driver’s License
  • 18 years old – Senior Driver’s License (Unrestricted)

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Vermont?

  • Proof of enrollment in driver’s ed
  • Proof of identity, birth date, residency, Social Security number and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • Form TA-Vl-21 – Application for License/Permit
  • Total of $71 for written test fee, road test fee and Learner’s Permit fee

Where do I file my VT driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at any local DMV office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://dmv.vermont.gov/locations for office locations, hours and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, if you are under 18 years of age you must enroll in driver’s education to receive your license.

What if I am new to Vermont?

You have 60 days to transfer your out of state license to a Vermont license. To do so, visit your local DMV office.

Close all

Preparing for the VT Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Vermont written test is made up of questions taken from the state drivers’ manual. They cover road signs, traffic laws and safe driving procedures. Here are two examples of content from the manual that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • Vermont law requires drivers to use their turn signal not less than 100 feet before making a turn or changing lanes. Signaling three to five seconds before any of these actions covers this requirement.
  • At the approach to a right turn the vehicle should be about three feet from the right side of the road. Do not swing your vehicle to the left before turning right

How is the test formatted?

The test is delivered in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions are taken from the state driver’s manual and are intended to verify that you have the knowledge to drive safely. No questions are written with the purpose of “tricking” you into giving a wrong answer.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 20 questions on the test and you must answer at least 16 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

A good two-pronged approach is to study the drivers’ manual and then check your progress by taking an online practice test. The practice test can also show you if you are weak in certain areas so that you can adjust your study efforts as needed.

Where can I get a free Vermont Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free manuals here at this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

You should study the manual as much as possible and take practice tests to assess your knowledge level. If you have trouble reading or have a disability that inhibits your reading ability tell the scheduling operator. The operator can make arrangements to provide you with assistance or schedule an “oral test” – for example, computer tests have an audio track so that you may listen to questions using headphones.

What should I do the night before the test?

What you don’t want to do is stay up all night studying. Instead, study regularly leading up to the test and then the night before you can review the manual, take a practice test and be sure to get plenty of rest for the next day.

Close all

Taking the VT Permit Test?: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Yes, you must contact the DMV office for an appointment for all tests.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Proof of enrollment in driver’s ed
  • Proof of identity, birth date, residency, Social Security number and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • Form TA-Vl-21 – Application for License/Permit
  • Total of $71 for written test fee, road test fee and Learner’s Permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $32. You will also need to pay a $19 road test fee and a $20 learner’s permit fee at the same time.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written knowledge test has 20 questions and you must answer 16 correctly to pass. You cannot use any notes or refer to the drivers’ manual when taking the test. The test questions will cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving practices. To get more familiar with the test format, take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin supervised driving practice with a supervising driver who is at least 25 years of age. You need to complete 40 hours of driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to retake the test as soon as the next day.

Close all

Preparing for the VT Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You can now begin supervised driving practice. You need to log 40 total hours of practice with at least 10 of those hours coming at night. Your driving practice must be done with a supervising driver who is 25 years old or older.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must hold your Learner’s Permit for one year. You must also complete driver’s ed and the 40 hours of driving practice before you can apply for your license.

Can I drive anywhere in Vermont with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older, you can drive on any Vermont public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 40 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older who is sitting in the front seat next to you.

What should I do if I have a lost Vermont Learner’s Permit?

To replace a lost or stolen permit, visit your local DMV office.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The key is to get sufficient practice – this includes driving practice that is done in traffic so that you learn to observe other vehicles and road signs and respond accordingly. You should also practice performing various vehicle maneuvers, including parking, stopping, starting and turning.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice turns, including three-point turns; parallel parking as well as parking on a hill and parking in a space between other vehicles; quick stops; backing; staying in your lane; following at a safe distance; and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

If you have access to an empty parking lot or seldom used road – practice common vehicle maneuvers such as parking, stopping, turning and accelerating. You should also drive in traffic being sure to obey traffic signs and to be observant of surrounding traffic and pedestrians.

Close all

Taking the VT Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local DMV office to schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test a local DMV office. Also, high school driving instructors are now conducting driver license road tests.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Form TA-VL-21 – Application for License/Permit
  • Driver’s ed certificate of completion
  • Form TA-VN-210 – Driving Practice Log Sheet
  • Proof of identity, birth date, residency, Social Security number and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • $32 for Junior License fee

You will also need a vehicle for the test along with the vehicle’s registration and proof of insurance.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will not be asked to do anything against the law and no tricks will be played on you. The examiner will give you various directions and you will be expected to display good control of your vehicle as you execute those directions. Among other things, you will need to drive at proper speeds according to posted speed limits and conditions and obey signs and other rules of the road.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Drivers often fail simply because a lack of quality practice leads to them committing minor errors that add up to a failing score. Other reasons drivers fail include: nerves, making a traffic violation, causing an accident and not following the examiner’s instructions.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Speeding
  • Not signaling for a turn
  • Not obeying a road sign
  • Driving dangerously
  • Failing to come to a complete stop

What happens if I fail the driving test?

If you fail the test for any reason, you must wait at least one week before retaking it.

How many times can I retake the test if I failed?

If you fail the test three times a minimum wait of one month to retake it is required.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Junior Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Vermont license?

  • You cannot hold a driving-related job (such as pizza deliveryman) until you’ve held your license for one year or have turned 18
  • You cannot carry any passengers for the first three months unless accompanied by a licensed adult age 25 or older
  • After three months, you can only carry passengers who are immediate family members

After six months, the passenger restrictions are removed.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in VT?

In Vermont it is illegal for a car to be driven that is not covered by a at least a minimum amount of liability insurance. The state’s coverage limits are: $25,000 for injury or death to one person; $50,000 for injury or death to multiple people in an accident; and $10,000 for property damage.

Close all

Renewing Your VT License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You will receive a renewal notice with instructions approximately 30 days before the expiration date. A Vermont license is valid for 14 days after the expiration date but after that it will be illegal for you to drive.

You can replace a lost or stolen license in person at a DMV office or by mail. The fee is $20.

Where can I renew my Vermont driver’s license?

You can renew your Vermont license in person at a DMV office or by mail. Note: A driver’s first renewal after 2014 has to be in person to comply with federal Real ID requirements. If you choose to renew by mail, you will not receive a federal Real ID compliant license.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

No you do not need to take a vision test to renew your license.

When first applying for your license, however, you do need to take a vision test. If the results of the screening determine that your vision does not meet the required standards of 20/40, you will be referred to an eye doctor of your choice and expense for further testing.


The Vermont DMV Test — What You Need to Know

If you’re serious about getting your learner’s permit, then you’ll need to start preparing for the state required permit test.  Vermont’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to first pass the permit test before they will issue you a learner’s permit. This multiple-choice written test is designed to evaluate your knowledge of Vermont traffic laws, rules of the road, and safe driving practices.

Develop the Knowledge You Need With VT DMV Practice Tests

Most first time test-takers don’t think they will end up failing the VT permit test yet statistics tell us that over half do.  Unfortunately, most choose to just wing it and opt not to prepare.  We know you’re smarter than that and understand that practice truly does make perfect!

Here you’ll find study materials designed to help you begin preparing the right way. You’ll find that our free Vermont practice permit tests provide important feedback while giving you a glimpse of what the real exam is like.  We also provide you with the official Vermont drivers manual.  Need a motorcycle permit?  We’ve put together some resource to help you pass that test too.