Wyoming Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your WY License
  • Preparing for the WY Permit Test
  • Taking the WY Permit Test?
  • Preparing for the WY Driving Test
  • Taking the WY Driving Test
  • Renewing Your WY License
Close all

Applying for Your WY License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Wyoming’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL) requires teens to earn their full license in stages in an attempt to reduce the risk associated with first-time drivers. The age requirements and stages are:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 16 years old – Intermediate Driver’s License
  • 16 ½ years old with driver’s ed – Full Driver’s License
  • 17 years old with no driver’s ed – Full Driver‘s License

Please note: a restricted Learner’s Permit is also offered to teens 14 to 15 years old who meet certain “extreme circumstances,” such as living more than five miles from school.

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Wyoming?

  • Proof of identity and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • Form FSDL-705 – Wyoming Driver License Application
  • $20 for fee

Where do I file my WY driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at a Wyoming Department of Transportation Driver Exam Station.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records/license_locations.html for office locations, hours and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

In Wyoming driver’s ed is not required but by taking it you can earn your full license earlier than those who do not take it.

What if I am new to Wyoming?

If you already have a driver’s license, you will have one year to transfer it to a Wyoming license – unless you are from Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee or Wisconsin in which case you need to transfer it immediately.

Close all

Preparing for the WY Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Wyoming written test requires you to identify traffic signs by shape, color or symbol; identify signals and pavement markings; and provide correct answers to multiple choice questions about traffic laws, safety rules, crash prevention and vehicle equipment. Here are two examples of content from the manual that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • Even though there are individuals who regularly drink to relatively high BACs that do not show any of the outward signs, they still increase their chances of being in a crash if they drive with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher
  • Starting your car moving on snow and ice requires slow, steady and careful acceleration and front wheels that are pointed straight ahead

How is the test formatted?

The Wyoming written test is delivered in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

Questions on the test are not intended to “trick you” but rather to verify you have the knowledge to drive safely. That being said, the more you study the Wyoming Driver’s Manual the less “tricky” the questions will sound. In other words, if you study the manual thoroughly you should have no problem on the test. But if you do not study the manual, the questions could seem “tricky” and leave you unsure of which answer is correct.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the test and you must answer at least 19 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should start by reading and studying the Wyoming Driver’s Manual. Once you are confident you know the material you should take online practice tests to verify that you do know the content. You can use the practice tests to identify weak areas and direct your future studies.

Where can I get a free Wyoming Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer Wyoming Driver’s Manuals for free here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Be sure to study traffic signs, signals and pavement markings. Try to memorize numerical data such measurements, lengths and distances. Take practice tests to see what areas you are strong in and what areas you are weak in and then adjust your study efforts accordingly.

What should I do the night before the test?

We recommend that you review the Wyoming Driver’s Manual and that you take a practice test to ensure you have the knowledge necessary to pass. If you miss a question on a particular subject on the practice test be sure to go to that section of the handbook and study it. You should also plan on going to bed early and getting a good night’s sleep so that you are rested and at your best for the test the next day.

Close all

Taking the WY Permit Test?: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

We recommend that you make an appointment if possible. Contact your local Driver Exam Station to see if appointments are accepted.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local Driver Exam Station.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

You should bring all of the following:

  • Proof of identity and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • Form FSDL-705 – Wyoming Driver License Application
  • $20 for fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $20 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written test contains 25 questions and you can miss as many as 6 and still pass. On the test you will be required to identify road signs and to answer multiple choice questions on traffic laws and safe driving practices. You cannot receive help from anyone. You cannot refer to the manual or to any notes. You also cannot look at your cell phone.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can start completing your supervised driving practice. You need to log a total of 50 hours of driving practice, with 10 of those hours coming at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You will be allowed to retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to take the test twice in one day; however, if you miss too many questions you will have to wait until the following day to retake it.

Close all

Preparing for the WY Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

With your Learner’s Permit you can begin supervised driving practice. During this period, you can drive as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 18 or over. You need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 hours coming at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for your Intermediate Driver’s License when you turn 16 and have completed the 50 hours of supervised driving practice. You also must have held your Learner’s Permit for at least 10 days.

Can I drive anywhere in Wyoming with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you can drive on any Wyoming public road or street as long as you are accompanied by a supervising driver age 18 or over.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 50 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 18 years old.

What should I do if I have a lost Wyoming Learner’s Permit?

You can receive a replacement permit by visiting a local Driver Exam Station with proper identification.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

You should practice both common vehicle maneuvers such as backing up, turning, parking, stopping and accelerating. You should also practice driving in traffic where you need to use good safe driving techniques, such as signaling, checking mirrors and following at a safe distance.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice parking on a hill, parking in a space and parallel parking; right and left turns along with two-point and three-point turnabouts; backing up in a straight line and turning while backing up; coming to a quick stop; and accelerating smoothly.

How can I simulate the driving test?

The best approach is to practice both vehicle maneuvers, such as parking, stopping, accelerating and turning, and driving on public roadways where you need to be observant of traffic and pedestrians.

Close all

Taking the WY Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact a local Driver Exam Station.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local Driver Exam Station. Please note the driving test may be waived for those who present a driver’s ed completion certificate.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of identity and legal presence – here are acceptable documents
  • Form FSDL-705 – Wyoming Driver License Application
  • Form FSCDL-01 – Supervised Driving Practice Certification
  • $20 for fee, if necessary
  • Properly functioning vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be asked to display various driving skills that are essential to operating a vehicle safely today. For example, you may have to park, make a quick stop, turn, complete a three-point turnabout and more. You will also have to drive on a public roadway where you will need to obey traffic signs and signals and drive safely amidst other vehicles.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Reasons for failure include: causing an accident; receiving a moving violation, failing to follow the examiner’s instructions and making too many mistakes which add up to a failing score.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Going over the speed limit
  • Failing to complete a turn properly
  • Failing to signal when turning or changing lanes
  • Not checking mirrors when changing lanes
  • Not obeying a traffic sign or signal

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You will be allowed to retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

You will be required to wait at least one day to retake the test and possibly longer depending on your previous performance.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Wyoming Intermediate Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Wyoming license?

  • Cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • Cannot have more than 1 passenger under 18, unless they are immediate family members

You are eligible for a full driver’s license when you are 16 ½ years old and have held your intermediate license for at least six months – provided you completed driver’s ed.

Those who do not take driver’s ed must wait until they are 17 to receive their full license.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in WY?

Wyoming’s mandatory auto insurance law requires vehicle owners to carry at a minimum the following insurance coverage:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $20,000 per accident for property
Close all

Renewing Your WY License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Wyoming Driver’s Licenses need to be renewed every 4 years and you can renew by mail once every eight years. For the other renewal time you will need to visit a Driver Exam Station in person.

You can replace a lost or stolen license by visiting a local Driver Exam Station with proper identification.

Where can I renew my Wyoming driver’s license?

You can renew your license by mail once every eight years and in person at a Driver Exam Station on the other opportunity.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, when renewing in person you will need to pass a vision test. A person must have 20/40 acuity with both eyes, either with or without glasses, and a combined horizontal field vision of at least 120 degrees to meet Wyoming vision standards for operating a motor vehicle. Those who fail the vision screening must obtain a vision statement from an eye specialist.


The Wyoming DOT Test — What You Need to Know

Before you can explore the streets and highways of Wyoming, you will need to get your learners permit and that means passing the Wyoming permit test.  The Wyoming permit test is a multiple choice written test administered by the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT).  The test features questions on the rules of the road, Wyoming traffic laws, and a variety of road signs.

Prep at Your Own Pace With WY DOT Practice Tests

With state statistics reporting that 1 out of every 2 people will fail the permit test this year, it’s now more important than ever to prepare for the exam the right way.  Why take the chance of leaving the testing office empty-handed when you can take advantage of our study material.  On this page, you will find our Wyoming practice permit test and the official Wyoming Driver’s Handbook.  The sample practice test is an excellent tool to help you get a feel for the real test style while the handbook makes a great reference guide.

Once you feel you are ready for the test, head over to your local testing office.   With a bit of study time on your part, you’ll be experiencing the freedom and independence that only driving can bring.