ar

Start Your Free AR Practice Permit Test Now

Arkansas DMV Learner's Permit FAQ

  • When can I apply for a permit in Arkansas?

    You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a learners permit in Arkansas. After your 16th birthday, you may begin the application process for an intermediate drivers license.

  • What are the requirements to get a learners permit?

    To receive your learner’s permit, you will be required to pass three exams at your local your local Office of Driver Services office.

    • A written knowledge test (permit test)
    • Behind-the-wheel driving test
    • Vision test
  • How many questions are on the permit test?

    Their are 25 multiple-choice questions on the Arkansas permit test.

  • How many questions must I answer correctly to pass?

    You will need answer a minimum of 20 questions correctly to pass.

  • What steps should I take to prepare for the test?

    In order to ensure that you receive your learner’s permit as soon as possible, you are encouraged to study for permit test. One of the best methods to study for the test is to take online practice exams that cover some of the same material found on the official test. Our Arkansas practice permit tests are a perfect place to start.

  • What percentage of people fail the permit test?

    Nearly 5 out of every 10 first-time test takers fail, according to the latest statistics. In some states, if you fail the exam, you must wait at least a day to retake the exam. You also must pay a re-examination fee. To better your chances of passing, take multiple practice exams that have been designed to closely replicate the actual test.

  • How much does the permit test cost?

    You will be assessed a $5 testing fee.

  • Where do I take the permit test?

    The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration’s (DFA) Office of Driver Services and the Arkansas State Police are in charge of licensing drivers in the state of Arkansas. Visit http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov to find a location near you.

  • What documents should I bring on test day?

    Written, vision and road tests are administered by the Arkansas State Police. No appointment is necessary. If you are under 18, you will need to be accompanied by a parent or guardian and you will need to bring with you your birth certificate, proof of school enrollment and proof of grade point average (you must have at least a 2.0).

The Arkansas Permit Test–What You Need to Know

Can’t wait to get your Arkansas learners permit and get behind the wheel? Before state of Arkansas can issue you a learners permit, you will need to pass the state required permit test administered by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA).  The permit test is a written exam that contains questions in multiple-choice format.  The questions are designed to test your knowledge of the rules of the road, Arkansas traffic laws, safe driving practices, and various road and highway signs.

Prepare the Smart Way With AR DMV Practice Permit Tests

Worried about passing the test? With statistics revealing that over 50% of applicants fail the exam, its essential you prepare.  Start preparing now by taking advantage of the study material on this page. We offer interactive Arkansas practice permit tests as well as the official Arkansas Drivers Handbook as reference. Get started now and you will be one step closer to getting behind the wheel!