Georgia Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your GA License
  • Preparing for the GA Permit Test
  • Taking the GA Permit Test
  • Preparing for the GA Driving Test
  • Taking the GA Driving Test
  • Renewing Your GA License
Close all

Applying for Your GA License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Georgia requires teens to follow a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) to obtain their full, unrestricted license. Georgia’s GDL program has three stages:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Provisional License – 16 years old if completed driver’s ed; 17 years old if no driver’s ed
  • Full Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Georgia?

For a Learner’s Permit or provisional license you need:

  • Application signed by parent, guardian, or authorized Driver’s Ed instructor
  • Form DS-1 (Certificate of Attendance) dated within the last 30 days or a high school diploma or GED
  • Proof of identity – 1 document, such as passport or US birth certificate
  • Social Security Number – such as Social Security Card of W-2.
  • Proof of Georgia residence, two documents such as report card and bank statement
  • $10 fee payable by credit or debit card, cash, check, or money order.

Here is a list of documents that Georgia accepts as proof of identity, residency, etc.

Where do I file my GA driver’s license application?

At the local office of the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).

How can I contact my local office?

If in Atlanta Metro Area or out-of-state, call (678) 413-8400, (678) 413-8500 or (678) 413-8600. If outside the Metro Atlanta Area, call (866) 754-3687. You can also visit https://www.dds.ga.gov/locations/index.aspx.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Driver’s education is required if you want your license when you turn 16. If you do not take driver’s education, you have to wait to get your license until you are 17.

What if I am New to Georgia?

You must transfer an out-of-state permit or existing driver’s license to Georgia within 30 days. Also, regardless of your old state’s licensing rules, you must meet the age and experience requirements of Georgia. That means you must hold your Georgia permit for 12 months before you can be issued a driver’s license. The time accumulated with an out-of-state license will count toward this requirement.

Close all

Preparing for the GA Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Georgia written permit test covers the material covered in the state driver’s handbook, which includes traffic laws, road signs and safe driving/rules of the road. Here are examples of content from the manual that you could be tested on:

  • The three most basic traffic laws require drivers to: obey traffic control devices; obey traffic directions of a police officer or firefighter; and never drive on a roadway that has been closed for construction or for an event
  • Always watch for speed limit signs while driving. Some areas, such as school zones and construction zones, may be posted for lower maximum speed limits at certain times of the day

How is the test formatted?

Georgia’s written test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

If you don’t study hard for the test you may think every question is a trick question. But actually, there are no trick questions on the test. Questions cover the content of the state driver’s manual.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Georgia test consists of two sections of 20 questions each. You must answer at least 15 questions in each section to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Your first step is to study the Georgia Driver’s Manual. You can also further your knowledge and get a better idea of what you know and what you need to study by taking online practice tests – take a practice test now. One section of the Georgia test covers traffic laws and the other covers road signs so be sure to study both areas carefully.

Where can I get a free Georgia Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free copy of the manual on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Be sure to study the driver’s handbook thoroughly. You can also test your knowledge and direct your studies by taking an online practice test.

What should I do the night before the test?

You should do a general review of the Georgia Driver’s Manual and also take at least one practice test to confirm your knowledge. Then you should get a good night’s sleep. Also, be sure to eat a good meal before the test and to arrive at the DDS office early so you are not feeling additionally stressed at test time.

Close all

Taking the GA Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

If possible, schedule an appointment as this will make the entire experience go more smoothly.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at the DDS office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

Bring:

  • Application signed by parent, guardian, or authorized Driver’s Ed instructor
  • Form DS-1 (Certificate of Attendance) dated within the last 30 days or a high school diploma or GED
  • Proof of identity – 1 document, such as passport or US birth certificate
  • Social Security Number – such as Social Security Card of W-2.
  • Proof of Georgia residence, two documents such as report card and bank statement
  • $10 fee payable by credit or debit card, cash, check, or money order.

Here is a list of documents that Georgia accepts as proof of identity, residency, etc.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or guardian should accompany you.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will pay a $10 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test is divided into two sections of 20 questions and you must get at least 15 questions right in each section. One section covers traffic laws and the other section covers road signs. Take a practice test that is formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin your driving practice. You must log 40 hours of driving practice in all, including six hours at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

If you fail one section of the test you only have to retake that section. If you fail both sections, you have to retake them both.

When can I retake the written test?

If you failed for the first time, you can retake the section or sections as soon as the next business day. If you fail twice, you must wait seven days to retake it. If you fail three or more times, you will have to wait at least 30 days to retake it.

Close all

Preparing for the GA Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You must do all of the following to get your provisional license: complete 40 hours of practice driving, including six hours at night; complete an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program; hold your Learner’s Permit for 12 months without suspension; and turn 16 if you took driver’s ed or 17 if you did not.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must hold your Learner’s Permit for 12 months with no suspensions. You must also be 16 years of age if you took driver’s ed or 17 if you did not to apply for your provisional license.

Can I drive anywhere in Georgia with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, but you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also complete six hours of driving at night to be able to apply for your provisional license.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Georgia Learner’s Permit?

The GA DDS lets you apply for a duplicate permit either online or in person. You will need to pay a $5 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Acing the driving test often comes down to practice. Get comfortable and confident behind the wheel and the driver’s test should be no problem. So be sure to log a lot of practice hours with a responsible driver who can correct your mistakes and help you develop your driving skills.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice all the common maneuvers including turns, parking defensive driving, changing lanes, signaling, stopping and starting.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Most driver’s tests include 3-point turns, parking, stopping, accelerating, driving in traffic and more so be sure to practice these maneuvers often enough that you become proficient at them.

Close all

Taking the GA Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local DDS office.

Where do I take the driving test?

At a DDS office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring:

  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Application signed by parent, guardian, or authorized Driver’s Ed instructor
  • Form DS-1 (Certificate of Attendance) dated within the last 30 days or a high school diploma or GED
  • Proof of identity – 1 document, such as passport or US birth certificate
  • Social Security Number – such as Social Security Card of W-2.
  • Proof of Georgia residence, two documents such as report card and bank statement
  • $10 fee payable by credit or debit card, cash, check, or money order.

Here is a list of documents that Georgia accepts as proof of identity, residency, etc.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will be asked to show proficiency in a number of driving skills, such as parking, turning, changing lanes, signaling, driving in traffic, driving defensively and more.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Many drivers fail to master the maneuvers they need to know like parking and turning. Don’t just drive for driving’s sake. Practice the maneuvers that are going to be on the test so that you know exactly what to do when called upon to do it. You should also study the Georgia driver’s manual and apply its tips and rules to your driving at all times.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not focusing and becoming distracted
  • Not driving defensively
  • Not wearing a seatbelt
  • Over-correcting on turns
  • Going over the speed limit

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How many times can I retake the test?

On your first failed attempt you can retake the test the next day. On your second failed attempt you must wait seven days to retake it. On your third or more failed attempt you must wait 30 days to retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your provisional license.

What restrictions come with a Georgia license?

With your provisional license you will only be able to drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and midnight. Also, for the first six months you can only have immediate family members as passengers. For the second six months, you can only have one passenger under 21 is not immediate family. At the one year mark, you can have no more than three passengers who are under 21 and not immediate family.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in GA?

Before you start driving in the “Peach State,” you must have car insurance. Minimum requirements are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability – $25,000 per person
Close all

Renewing Your GA License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Georgia offers resident two renewal options:

  • A short-term driver’s license that is good for 5 years
  • A long-term driver’s license that is valid for 8 years

The renewal process is the same for both licenses but the fees are different.

If your license is lost or stolen, you can apply for a duplicate permit either online or in person. You will need to pay a $5 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Georgia driver’s license?

You can renew your license online, in person or by mail.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If you are over 64 years of age or your license has been expired for over two years, you will need to take a vision test. The test requires that you see at least 20/60 in one eye and have at least a 140 degree field of vision. If you fail to meet these minimum standard requirements you will be required to have a Vision Report Form completed by a licensed practitioner.


The Georgia DDS Test — What You Need to Know

Freedom, independence, and the open road could all be yours. The only thing standing between you and the driver’s seat is your learners permit.

In order to receive your permit, Georgia’s Department of Driver Services (DDS) requires all permit applicants to get a passing score on the written permit test. You’ll be tested on the rules of the road, Georgia traffic laws, and a variety of road signs.

Ace Your Written Test With GA Practice Tests

The vast majority of people don’t properly prepare for the permit test. And, as a result, a lot of people fail.  In fact, statistics reveal that roughly 70% fail the test every year!

Don’t worry though, you’ll find help here.

Our goal is to help you effectively prepare for the exam. To boost your chances of passing the test, you’ll find that we’ve pulled together some amazing study tools. You’ll find our interactive Georgia practice permit tests as well as the official Georgia Driver’s Manual. Need a motorcycle permit or endorsement?  You’ll find resources here to help you tackle that test too.