Maine Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your ME License
  • Preparing for the ME Permit Test
  • Taking the ME Permit Test
  • Preparing for the ME Driving Test
  • Taking the ME Driving Test
  • Renewing Your ME License
Close all

Applying for Your ME License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

To ensure teen drivers a properly prepared to drive, the state of Maine has instituted a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL). Requirements for the program are:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Intermediate Driver’s License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – Must have held intermediate license for 270 days without any violations

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Maine?

In Maine, the driver’s education course provider typically submits all the necessary paperwork for a teen to receive their Learner’s Permit. If, for some reason, your provider does not do this, you will need to a local Maine BMV office with the following:

  • Form MVE-64 (Non-Commercial Class C Application)
  • Driver’s Ed completion certificate
  • Birth certificate
  • Proof of identity and residency – for acceptable documents, visit the Maine BMV website
  • Check or money order for $10 for permit fee

Where do I file my ME driver’s license application?

At the local office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

How can I contact my local office?

Call 207-624-9000 or visit https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/locations/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

The Maine Graduated Driver’s License Program requires teens to complete driver’s education in order to receive their Learner’s Permit.

What if I am new to Maine?

Teens who move to Maine and currently hold an out-of-state driver’s license have 30 days to transfer it to a Maine license. They must be at least 16 years of age and may have to show proof of driver’s ed completion.

Close all

Preparing for the ME Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Questions on the Maine written knowledge permit test are drawn from the state’s driver’s manual and cover topics ranging from traffic laws to road signs to safe driving rules and techniques. Sample subjects that you may see covered on the test include:

  • Over half of the young people killed in alcohol related crashes were not the ones who were drinking!
  • The U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that each year as many as 240,000 accidents are related to sleepiness at the wheel

How is the test formatted?

It is a multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

Questions are drawn from the Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide. Study the guide thoroughly and you shouldn’t be surprised by any question on the test.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the Maine Permit Test and you must answer at least 21 of the questions correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Read and study the state driver’s handbook and try to memorize any numeric information in the manual, such as lengths, distances and measurements. You should also take practice tests to assess your knowledge level and identify subject areas that you are weak in and need to study more. Take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Maine Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free copy of the manual here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

We recommend reading the driver’s manual at least three times. You should also take as many practice tests as possible to prepare for the experience of sitting for the exam. In addition to those two things, when taking the test be sure to go with the safest sounding answer and to fully read each question and the answers before making a selection. Ready to take a practice test now?

What should I do the night before the test?

On the assumption that you have read your driver’s manual at least three times and have taken numerous practice exams, simply do a light review of the manual and take another practice test to build your confidence. Then be sure to turn in early and get a good night’s sleep. On test day, be sure to arrive at the testing facility at least 30 minutes early to avoid any stress that comes from arriving late. Too much stress can interfere with your thought processes and lead to a poor test performance.

Close all

Taking the ME Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

It is recommended that you make an appointment if possible.

Where do I take the written test?

The test will be administered at a local office of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form MVE-64 (Non-Commercial Class C Application)
  • Driver’s Ed completion certificate
  • Birth certificate
  • Proof of identity and residency – for acceptable documents, visit the Maine BMV website
  • Check or money order for $10 for permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a permit fee of $10.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test contains 25 questions in all and you will need to answer at least 21 of them correctly in order to pass. The test does not have a time limit so be sure to arrive at least an hour or two before the office closes to ensure you have enough time to properly consider each question and answer set. During the test, you cannot refer to any notes or the state driver’s manual. To get more familiar with the test format, take a practice test.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be presented with your Maine Learner’s Permit, which will allow you to start your supervised driving practice.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake it.

How soon can I retake the test?

The examiner at your local BMV office will tell you when you can retake the test. Often you can retake it the next day though it may be wise to study for a while before retaking it.

Close all

Preparing for the ME Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

After passing the written knowledge test you will receive your Learner’s Permit which will allow you to begin supervised driving practice. You must log 70 hours of driving practice with 10 of those hours at night. Your driving supervisor must be at least 20 years old and have had his or her license for two years.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must be at least 16 years old and have held your Learner’s Permit for six months to apply for your intermediate license.

Can I drive anywhere in Maine with my Learner’s Permit?

You can drive on any public road or street in Maine as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has had their license for two years.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to log at least 10 of your 70 hours of supervised driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied at all times by a licensed driver age 20 or older who has had their license for at least two years.

What should I do if I have a lost Maine Learner’s Permit?

You can submit a request for a replacement permit online, by mail or in person at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. Be prepared to provide identification documents and to pay a replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Study the Maine rules of the road and apply them as you log your supervised driving practice hours. Don’t let yourself get too comfortable behind the wheel, stay focused on what you are doing and try to apply the defensive driving techniques discussed in the driver’s handbook.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Practice all the major vehicle maneuvers, such as parking, turning, changing lanes, stopping, accelerating and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Practice the following skills which are often tested for on the driving exam: backing, yielding, turning, staying in your lane, changing lanes, parking, using signals properly, following at a safe distance, paying attention to road signs and traffic around you and responding to traffic and signals.

Close all

Taking the ME Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles office nearest you for available test times.

Where do I take the driving test?

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Form MVE-64 (Non-Commercial Class C Application) – must be signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Proof of legal presence
  • Proof of residency
  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance

For acceptable identification documents, visit the Maine BMV website.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the road test, you will be assessed on your ability to maintain control of your vehicle at all times whether driving forward or backward, turning or changing lanes. You will also be evaluated on maintaining land position, turning left or right, driving straight ahead and observing and reacting to traffic, pedestrians, traffic signs, signals and conditions.

During the test you will never be asked to do anything illegal.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Often failing the driving test comes down to nerves. Teen drivers forget to do the little things like signal properly or pay close attention to their speed and these small things add up to a failing score. Be calm and confident during your test, listen to your examiner but don’t make the mistake of focusing so much on him or her that you ignore what is happening on the road around you.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Failing to signal when turning
  • Failing to check mirrors when changing lanes
  • Failing to come to a complete stop
  • Following too closely to the vehicle in front of you
  • Failing to listen attentively to the examiner’s instructions

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

Following a failed test, the examiner will explain why you failed and will tell you when you are able to retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your intermediate license.

What restrictions come with a Maine license?

With a Maine restricted license you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m., use a cell phone while driving or have any passengers other than immediate family members unless you are driving with a licensed driver age 20 or older who has had a valid driver’s license for two years.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in ME?

Maine requires all drivers to meet the following minimum liability insurance requirements: $50,000 for bodily injury or death, per person; $100,000 for total bodily injury or death, per accident, if multiple people were injured in the accident; $25,000 for property damage.

Close all

Renewing Your ME License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

In Maine, you must renew your license every six years if you are 65 years of age or younger and every four years if you are over age 65. You will receive a renewal notice before your driver’s license expires.

If you have a lost or stolen license, you can submit a request for a replacement online or in person at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. Be prepared to provide identification documents and to pay a replacement fee of $5.

Where can I renew my Maine driver’s license?

You can submit a request for a replacement online or in person at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Those renewing their license must have a vision test on their first renewal after turning 40 and at every second renewal after attaining 40 years of age. Those age 62 and up must have a vision test at every renewal.

The vision test measures how well drivers see directly ahead and it also assesses their peripheral vision.


The Maine DMV Test — What You Need to Know

The process of getting your learner’s permit can be either fun or frustrating. It all depends on if you can get your hands on the right tools for the job.  Before you can experience the freedom of the open road, Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) requires you to pass a mandatory drivers knowledge test.  More commonly known as the permit test, this test is designed to your knowledge of safe driving rules, traffic laws, and road and traffic signs.  The purpose of the exam is to ensure you have the basic information needed to be a safe and courteous driver.

The Power of ME DMV Practice Tests

Most assume they can pass the permit test without preparing. Unfortunately, these are the same people that end up leaving the testing office empty-handed.  Statistics support this and reveal that nearly 50% of first-time test-takers end up failing the exam.

Be smart and set yourself apart by taking advantage of the study tools on this site.  Here you’ll find everything you need to begin preparing for the exam.   Our sample interactive Maine practice permit test is an excellent way to get a solid feel for the real test format while getting a better understanding of some of the topics you will be tested on.  We also have a copy of the latest official Maine Driver’s Handbook if you are looking for a great place to start.  Interested in a motorcycle permit?  We have a group of study tools to help you with that goal too.  There’s no reason for you to fail the test when you can arm yourself with the some of the best study tools available.

Start preparing for the Maine permit test now!