Missouri Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your MO License
  • Preparing for the MO Permit Test
  • Taking the MO Permit Test
  • Preparing for the MO Driving Test
  • Taking the MO Driving Test
  • Renewing Your MO License
Close all

Applying for Your MO License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Missouri has instituted a graduated driver’s licensing program that is designed to help teens gain driving experience while minimizing the risks associated with first-time drivers. The Missouri GDL program has the following levels and age requirements:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Intermediate License – 16 years old
  • Full Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Missouri?

You will need to bring all of the following:

  • Proof of name, birth date and birthplace
  • Social Security number
  • Proof of Missouri residency
  • Completed driver’s license/permit application
  • Form DOR-100 (Driver Examination Record)
  • $3.50 for permit fee

For documents that can be submitted as proof of name, birth place and date and residency, visit https://dor.mo.gov/drivers/idrequirements.php.

Where do I file my MO driver’s license application?

Licensing in Missouri is handled by the Department of Revenue. There are DOR offices located throughout the state.

How can I contact my local office?

Call 573-526-2407 or visit https://dor.mo.gov/contact/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Driver’s education is not required in Missouri. However, some high schools and private institutions do offer driver’s ed and experts recommend taking the course to gain information about driving and improve your skills.

What if I am new to Missouri?

Teens under the age of 18 who move to Missouri with a valid out-of-state driver’s license can transfer their license and receive a MO Intermediate Driver’s License. If you transfer your license within 30 days of your 18th birthday, you will receive a full MO driver’s license.

Close all

Preparing for the MO Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Questions on the Missouri written knowledge test are drawn from the state driver guide and cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving tips and techniques. Here are examples of content taken from the driver guide that you could be tested on:

  • Before you drive away from any parking space, you should be sure to check for traffic and signal.
  • If you drive while your license is suspended, your driving privilege may be revoked for one year after you are convicted. If you continue to drive while your license is revoked, you may be convicted of a felony and have your license revoked again for one year.

How is the test formatted?

The Missouri written test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

The Missouri Driver Guide specifically says, “All of the test questions come directly from information found in this guide (the Missouri Driver Guide). There are no ‘trick’ questions.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Missouri written test has 25 questions and you must answer at least 20 of the correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should study the Missouri Driver Guide thoroughly. You should also try to memorize numerical information found in the guide, such as distances, lengths, speed limits and other measurements. To verify your knowledge and identify any weak areas that you need to study more take online practice tests.

Where can I get a free Missouri Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free Driver Guides.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Take practice tests online to see what areas you are strong in and what you need to study more. Then use the Missouri Driver Guide to study those weak areas and improve your knowledge.

What should I do the night before the test?

You should plan on doing a general review of the Driver Guide and taking a couple of practice tests to ensure you are fully prepared. You should also try to go to bed early so that you are fully rested and ready on test day.

Close all

Taking the MO Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

If your local office accepts appointments, it is recommended that you make one to avoid a potentially long wait.

Where do I take the written test?

At a local DOR office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

Plan on bringing:

  • Proof of name, birth date and birthplace
  • Social Security number
  • Proof of Missouri residency
  • Completed driver’s license/permit application
  • Form DOR-100 (Driver Examination Record)
  • $3.50 for permit fee

Documents that are acceptable to submit as proof can be found at the DOR website.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $3.50 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will include 25 questions covering the laws and methods of driving presented in the Missouri Driver Guide. There is also a road signs test. The written test is NOT an open book test – meaning you cannot refer to notes or the driver guide as you take it. One note: you will not be tested on the commercial vehicle content presented in Chapter 15. To pass the written test you will need to answer at least 20 questions correctly. We offer practice tests formatted like the real Missouri test.

What happens after I pass the written test?

Upon passing the test, you will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin practice driving with a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver who must be at least 25 or older with a minimum of three years’ driving experience if you are under 16 or at least 21 years of age if you are 16 or over.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

If there is time that day, you may be able to retake it immediately if you so desire. However, it might be a good idea to study more before retaking the test.

Close all

Preparing for the MO Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You are now required to log 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours at night. If you are under 16 you must drive with a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 25 or older with at least three years of driving experience. If you are 16 or over, you must drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

Once you have held your learner’s permit for at least 182 days, are at least 16 years old and have completed the 40 hours of driving practice (with at least 10 hours at night), you can apply for your Intermediate Driver’s License.

Can I drive anywhere in Missouri with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a qualified licensed driver you can drive on any public road or street in Missouri.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also complete at least 10 hours of driving between sunset and sunrise.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, if you are under 16 a licensed driver age 25 or older with three years of driving experience must be in the front passenger seat. If you are 16 or over, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Missouri Learner’s Permit?

If you have a lost or stolen Learner’s Permit, visit the local DOR office with your identification documents and $3.50 to get a replacement permit.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Practice driving as much as possible and be sure to practice with licensed drivers who themselves are good drivers and can give you tips and suggestions on how to improve. Also, study the Missouri Driver Guide and try to apply the described driving methods as you practice.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice right and left turns, stopping and starting, parking, changing lanes and defensive driving.

How can I simulate the driving test?

The Missouri driver’s test includes: starting and stopping the vehicle, parking parallel to the curb, backing, parking on a hill, entering and leaving intersections and understanding and obeying traffic signals and signs so be sure to practice all of these things.

Close all

Taking the MO Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local DOR office to schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local DOR office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Your valid Learner’s Permit
  • Completed Driver’s License Application
  • Proof of driving practice hours
  • Proof of name, birthday and birth place
  • Social Security Number
  • Proof of Missouri Residency (acceptable documents to submit)
  • $7.50 for license fee

You will also need:

  • A vehicle that is familiar to you and that is in proper working order. The vehicle should also have a current license plate and a valid inspection sticker
  • Vehicle Registration
  • Proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will be asked to start the vehicle; drive it smoothly; make turns, including a three-point turn; park; and stop the vehicle. As you drive, the examiner will be judging you on, among other things, the distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you; your speed while driving; driving in the proper lane and obeying lane markings; your awareness of the traffic around you; and yielding the right-of-way when necessary.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Drivers often fail due to making minor mistakes that add up to a failing score. If you lose more than 30 points, you will fail the test. You will also fail the test if you are in a crash with another vehicle and it is your fault; hit a pedestrian; drive so dangerously you might have caused a traffic crash; violate a traffic law; or refuse to drive as the examiner asks.

What are five things I should be sure to do when taking the driving test?

  • When backing up, drive straight and smoothly
  • Always come to a complete stop
  • Always check mirrors before turning or changing lanes
  • Always pay close attention to your speed so you don’t go over the limit
  • Always leave a safe distance between you and the vehicle in front of you

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test, possibly as soon as the next day. Your examiner will tell you what you did wrong and when you can retake the test.

How many times can I retake the test?

If you fail the test three times, you will have to submit a form to the DOR requesting permission for another test and will then have to undergo more driver training before taking it.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your intermediate license.

What restrictions come with a Missouri license?

You may not drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age or you are driving to/from school or work or it’s an emergency.

For the first six months that you have your Intermediate Driver’s License, you can only have one passenger under 19 in your car who is not an immediate family member.

After the first six months, you can only have up to three passengers in your car under 19 years of age who are not immediate family members.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in MO?

Missouri drivers are required to carry insurance for injuries that may be caused to another. Minimum coverage amounts are: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property damage.

Close all

Renewing Your MO License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Missouri Driver’s Licenses are valid for three years for those between 18 and 20 years old; for six years for those between 21 and 69 years old; and for three years for those 70 years old or more. The Missouri DOR will send a renewal notice with instructions to you at least 15 days prior to your license’s expiration date.

If your license is lost or stolen, you can get a replacement by visiting the local DOR office with your identification documents and $22.50 for a three-year license or $25 for a six-year license.

Where can I renew my Missouri driver’s license?

You can only renew your Missouri license in person – unless you are a military member or dependent, who can also renew by mail.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you must take an acuity vision test and a peripheral (side) vision test when you renew your driver’s license.

The minimum requirements to pass the vision test are at least 20/40 with either or both eyes. The minimum peripheral reading is at least 55 degrees in each eye or 85 degrees in one eye.

Failure to meet these requirements will result in a restriction being placed on your license. If both your natural and corrected acuity vision are worse than 20/160, you will not be allowed to take the driving test or get a license.


The Missouri DOR Test — What You Need to Know

Getting your Missouri learner’s permit will open up a whole new world to you.  And once you have your actual driver’s license, you’ll be able to go wherever you choose…whenever you choose.  But before you can get your permit and enjoy your new found freedom, the Missouri’s Motor Vehicle division requires you to pass the permit test. The MO permit test features a series of multiple-choice questions designed to test your knowledge of safe driving techniques, Missouri’s motor vehicle laws, rules of the road, and various road signs.

Take the Next Step and Prepare With MO DOR Practice Tests

Every year thousands of people take the permit test with no preparation.  Unfortunately, state statistics reveal that the majority also leave empty-handed.  A failed exam means having to come back and take the exam all over again and in some cases pay a retesting fee.  Do you really want to go through all that?

Fortunately, we’re dedicated to helping people prepare for the permit test.

To help you get started we’ve put together a list of essential study tools.  Our free Missouri practice permit test is a great way to get some practice in while getting a feel for the real test format. You’ll also find official the Missouri Driver’s Manual can be an especially valuable test prep resource.  Need to get your motorcycle permit?  We offer practice tests and manuals to help you prepare for the motorcycle permit test as well.

All of our study material has been created to help you study from the comfort of home.  Nothing could be more convenient.  By using our study aids, you’ll be well on your way towards getting your Missouri learner’s permit.