Permit Practice Tests (150 questions)
Test your knowledge of driving laws with our OH BMV Practice Test. 40 challenging practice test questions. Unlimited attempts. Instant feedback.
Prepare the smart way with OH BMV Practice Test 2. This valuable study tool features 40 additional practice test questions. Get the practice you need here.
Prepare the smart way with OH BMV Practice Test 3. This valuable study tool features 40 additional practice test questions. Get the practice you need here.
Make the decision to prepare for your exam a real no-brainer with OH BMV Practice Test 4 This practice test includes 40 more questions that will truly test your knowledge.
Taking our new practice test on OH road signs is a great way to assess your readiness for your state’s written permit test. This test contains 25 road sign questions.
50 random questions
Get a feel for the real exam before you visit your local BMV office. Designed to simulate the real test with randomized questions, no explanations, and new questions every time.
All 150 questions
This mammoth test should not be overlooked. With more questions than other exam you’ll want to take this test before you head to the DMV.
Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)
Assess your motorcycle knowledge with the OH Motorcycle Practice Test 1. There are 25 challenging questions. Find out how much you really know by taking it now.
Our OH Motorcycle Practice Test Two contains 25 more questions on safe motorcycle operation. Get started now to test your knowledge.
Before sitting for the motorcycle test, get an idea of what it will be like with our realistic OH Motorcycle Practice Test Three. Take it now to test your knowledge.
The OH Motorcycle Practice Test 4 offers you another chance to prepare for the Ohio motorcycle written test. There are 25 multiple-choice questions. Take the test now.
All 100 questions
Prepare for the Ohio motorcycle permit test with this comprehensive practice test featuring the largest number of questions we have for Ohio. Test your knowledge and endurance now!
The Ohio Drivers Handbook is a powerful study tool to help you begin preparing for the Ohio permit or license test. Get your FREE copy here!
The Ohio Motorcycle Manual is a powerful study aid to help you begin preparing for the Ohio motorcycle license test. Get your free copy here!
Ohio BMV Learner's Permit FAQ
Applying for Your OH License
What are the age requirements for getting started?
The Ohio Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program requires teens to complete a series of steps to earn their full, unrestricted license. This process is designed to help teens gain valuable experience and knowledge so that the are prepared to an expansion of their driving privileges. The age requirements and levels of Ohio’s GDL program are:
- 15 ½ years old – Learner’s Permit (TIPIC – Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card)
- 16 years old – Probationary Driver’s License
- 18 years old – Full, Unrestricted Driver’s License
What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Ohio?
Plan to present all of the following:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of birth date
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of legal presence
- $22 permit fee
Here is what Ohio considers acceptable documents to submit as proof of the above. In addition to you submitting proof, your parent or legal guardian will also need to submit two proofs of identity.
Where do I file my OH driver’s license application?
You should file your application at a local office of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
How can I contact my local office?
Call (844) 644-6268 or visit https://bmv.ohio.gov/about-contact.aspx to find office locations and contact information.
Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?
Yes, Ohio requires new teen drivers to complete a driver’s ed course that has 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
What if I am new to OH?
What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?
The Ohio written test covers state driving regulations and road signs. All questions are derived from the state Driver’s Manual, which is officially called The Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws. Here are two examples of content from the manual that might be tested for on the written exam:
- A left turn on red may be made only from the extreme left lane of a one-way street to the extreme left lane of another one-way street, providing there is no sign posted forbidding a left turn on red.
- The importance of merge and pavement width transition signs is to warn traffic by the use of arrows to illustrate the changes in traffic patterns.
How is the test formatted?
The test is presented in multiple choice format.
Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?
There are no trick questions on the test, only questions designed to ensure you have the knowledge to drive safely in the state of Ohio. All questions are drawn from the state Driver’s Manual so you should study the digest thoroughly.
How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?
There are two sections consisting of 20 questions each. You must get at least 15 questions (75%) correct in each section to pass. The two sections are traffic laws and road signs.
What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?
Study every page of the Ohio Digest to ensure you have the knowledge to pass. To verify your knowledge level, take practice tests online. This can be a great way to identify weak areas so that you can devote more study time to getting stronger in those areas.
Where can I get a free Ohio Driver’s Manual to study?
Click on the following link to get a free copy of The Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.
How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?
When studying the digest take special note of distances, lengths and measurements and try to memorize them. Also, be sure to study the driving under the influence section and memorize the meaning of road signs. To better familiarize yourself with what is on the test, take a practice test.
What should I do the night before the test?
Read over the digest one more time and study the road signs to be sure you have them all committed to memory. You can then take a practice test or tests to verify your knowledge. Finally, you should try to get a good night’s sleep so that you are well-rested and thinking your best come test time.
Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?
Contact your local BMV office to see if appointments are accepted and, if they are, it is recommended that you make one.
Where do I take the written test?
You will take the test at a local BMV office.
What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?
- Proof of identity
- Proof of birth date
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of legal presence
- $22 permit fee
Here is what Ohio considers acceptable documents to submit as proof of the above.
Who should accompany me to the written test?
You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?
Yes, you will need to pay a $22 permit fee.
What should I expect when I sit for the written test?
You will be given two sets of 20 questions each. One set of questions will be on road signs and the other set will be on traffic laws. You need to answer at least 15 questions in each section correctly in order to pass. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or to the driver’s manual. To better familiarize yourself with the test, take a practice test.
What happens after I pass the written test?
You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You need to complete 50 hours of driving practice, with 10 of those hours coming at night.
What happens if I fail the written test?
You can retake the test.
How soon can I retake the written test?
You must wait at least 24 hours before retaking the test.
I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?
You can now begin supervised driving practice with a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor. You must log 50 hours of driving practice in all, with 10 of those hours completed at night.
How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?
You can apply for a probationary license when you are at least 16; when you’ve had your Learner’s Permit for at least six months; when you have completed driver’s ed; and when you have logged 50 hours of supervised driving practice.
Can I drive anywhere in Ohio with my Learner’s Permit?
Yes, you can drive on any Ohio public road or street. Remember, you must be accompanied by a licensed supervising driver.
Should I practice driving solely during the day?
No, Ohio also requires you to log at least 10 hours of driving practice at night.
Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?
You must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor.
What should I do if I have a lost Ohio Learner’s Permit?
How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?
Practice both common driving maneuvers as well as driving defensively in traffic. When you can do both of these things with skill you will be prepared to pass the test. This means you should practice stopping, backing, turning and parking. You should also regularly use defensive driving skills like checking mirrors, signaling and following at a safe distance.
Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?
Yes, the driving test may include such maneuvers as stopping and starting; turning around; backing; making proper left and right turns; giving hand signals or using mechanical turn signals; driving in the proper lane; and maintaining a safe following distance.
How can I simulate the driving test?
If you cones or something similar and access to a vacant parking lot you can set up your own maneuverability course. See pages 9 and 10 in The Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws to see how to set up the course. You should also practice driving in traffic, where you should be focused on safe driving techniques and obeying road signs.
How do I schedule my driving test?
Where do I take the driving test?
You will take the test a local driver exam station.
What should I bring to the driving test?
Bring the following to your driving test:
- A well-maintained car with registration and proof of insurance
- A driver’s education completion certificate
- Your Learner’s Permit (TIPIC)
Once you’ve passed the test, bring the following to any deputy registrar license agency:
- Learner’s Permit
- Probationary Driver’s License fee (16 – $24.25; 17 – $23; 18 – $21.75)
Who should bring me to the driving test?
A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.
What will I be asked to do on the driving test?
The driving test has two parts – driving and maneuverability. During the driving part you will be asked to stop and start; turn around and back up; perform turns; use vehicle turn signals; drive in the correct lane; and maintain a safe following distance. During the maneuverability part you will be asked to move forward and backward in a marked course.
What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?
Failure to maintain control of their vehicle in the maneuverability course; inability to back up in a straight line; nerves; distracted driving; and not listening to the examiner are all common reasons for failure.
What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?
- Not checking mirrors when turning or changing lanes
- Knocking over markers in the maneuverability course
- Failure to properly complete a three-point
- Failing to obey a road sign
- Following too closely
What happens if I fail the driving test?
You will be allowed to retake the test.
How soon can I retake the test if I failed?
You must wait seven days before retesting. After your fourth failure you will be asked to wait six months before retesting.
I’ve passed the road test, now what?
You will receive your Probationary Driver’s License.
What restrictions come with an Ohio license?
- If you are 17 or 18, you can drive unsupervised except between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
- If you are under 17, you can drive unsupervised except between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m.
- If you are under 17, you can have no more than one passenger in your vehicle who is not a family member unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
What are the insurance requirements for drivers in OH?
Minimum coverage required by Ohio’s Financial Responsibility Law is:
- Bodily injury – $12,500 per person and $25,000 per accident
- Property damage – $7,500 per accident
Note: These amounts are the bare minimum allowed by law in most cases you would need significantly more coverage to pay for a serious crash.
What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?
An Ohio Class D (operator) Driver’s License can be renewed at anytime; however, you renew more than 90 days in advance of the expiration date, the license will only be valid for three years instead of four. If you are under 21, your license will be valid until you turn 21 and then must be renewed within 30 days.
Where can I renew my Ohio driver’s license?
You must renew your Ohio license in person at a local BMV office. The renewal fee is $25.75.
Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?
Yes, you are required to pass a vision test when renewing. when renewing in person you will need to take a vision test.
The minimum vision for most drivers to qualify for an unrestricted license is 20/40. The minimum requirement for an unrestricted license is 70 degrees of side vision in each eye.
How to Get Your Ohio Learner’s Permit in 2022
Learning how to pass the Ohio permit test shouldn’t be stressful. Use this easy step-by-step guide to quickly master the exam. Let’s get started!
If you want to receive full driving privileges in the state of Ohio, you will need to learn about the Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that has been shown to help reduce traffic collisions due to inexperienced drivers. The GDL program will allow you to gain important driving skills while remaining under the supervision of your parent or guardian.
In Ohio, the GDL process features three different stages:
- Temporary Instruction Permit
- Probationary License
- Full License
In this guide, we will teach you how to pass the Ohio permit test and ultimately go on to receive your full driver’s license.
When you are 15 and a half years old, you can apply for your Temporary Instruction Permit (or learner’s permit) in the state of Ohio. To do so, you will need to pass a written permit test. This multiple-choice test will check your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as certain traffic signs. You will also be given a permit paperwork packet, which you will need to complete at various stages of the GDL process.
The Ohio BMV Test– What You Need to Know
The excitement of getting your driver’s license is a wonderful feeling. It’s a special, once-in-a-lifetime moment. But, before the state can issue you a permit you must first to pass the state permit test.
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) is responsible for administering the test as well as issuing permits and licenses. More commonly known as the Ohio permit test, this test will determine if you have the knowledge to be a safe and courteous driver. You will be tested on Ohio’s traffic laws, signs and signals, and safe driving practices.
Study Hard to Increase Your Odds of Passing
Few people pass the permit test on their first try without doing plenty of studying ahead of time. We provide you a free copy of the Ohio Driver’s Handbook for you to use, and if you prefer a hard copy, you can visit the offices of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) and request one.
Assess Your Knowledge Now With OH BMV Practice Tests
Unfortunately, failing the OH permit test seems to be a common occurrence. You might be surprised to know that statistics reveal over 70% fail the exam every year!
But don’t worry, we can help.
We went through great pains to create a powerful collection of permit test study resources. Here you’ll find our interactive Ohio practice permit tests and the official Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.
Our Ohio practice permit test includes a lot of the same subjects you will see on the actual exam, and taking it can dramatically increase your odds of passing. Don’t miss out on this valuable resource for study, and don’t waste your time and money taking a test you aren’t prepared for. Take our practice exams a few times before attempting the real thing.
Visit the BMV Testing Location and Take Your Tests
In Ohio, driver’s license testing is handled by the State Highway Patrol. When you are ready, visit a testing location and bring along:
- Your certified birth certificate and Social Security Card.
- Proof of Ohio residency (school enrollment card, parent’s utility bill).
- A parent or guardian to cosign your application.
- $22 in fees.
At this point, you will take the written permit test. Relax and do your best. If you remain calm, you are more likely to remember everything you have studied. When you pass, you will be given a vision exam to make sure you can see well enough to drive. From there, you will be given your permit.
Start Your Practice Driving
Now that you have your Temporary Instruction Permit, you can begin your practice driving. The state of Ohio requires that you sign up for an approved driver’s education class that includes 24 hours of classroom education and eight hours of behind-the-wheel practice with an instructor. You will also be required to do a minimum of 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of your parent or guardian, with 10 of those hours taking place at night.
When you are 16 years old, you have held your Temporary Instruction Permit for at least six months, and you have completed your practice driving and driver’s education requirements, you are eligible to apply for your Probationary License. This will require that you take a behind-the-wheel driving test to measure how well you control your car and observe the rules of the road.
When you’re ready, make an appointment at a driver’s license testing location. On test day, be sure to bring along:
- Your Temporary Instruction Permit.
- The rest of the forms in your permit packet.
- Signed proof that you completed your practice driving.
- A certificate of completion for your required driver’s education course.
Stay calm and do your best as you complete the driving test. You have practiced hard, and now it’s your time to shine! When you pass, you will be given a second vision test, and after that, the examiner will give you a signed certificate that you can take back to the BMV offices to receive your Probationary License. The license will cost up to $24.25 depending on how old you are. Be sure to bring some cash along for these fees.
Your Probationary License will come with some restrictions:
- Except when traveling to and from work or when accompanied by a parent or guardian, drivers under the age of 17 may not drive between midnight and 6 a.m. You also cannot drive with more than one passenger who isn’t an immediate family member.
- If you are over the age of 17, you may not drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. with the same exceptions.
- You and all of your passengers must always wear safety belts.
When you are 18 years old, and you have completed all of the requirements of the GDL process, the restrictions will be removed from your license.
Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.
When it comes to the permit packet, be sure to avoid filling out any of the paperwork until you have been instructed to do so. Filling out some of the forms ahead of time could result in your packet being thrown out, and if this happens, you will need to purchase a new one.