Permit Practice Tests (150 questions)
Practice Test 1
Boost your knowledge of Montana’s driving laws with the MT Practice Permit Test 1. The practice test features multiple attempts, unlimited feedback, and more.
Practice Test 2
Discover what it takes to ace the written MT DMV Test. The second test in our series of practice tests includes even more questions to ensure you’re ready for test day.
Practice Test 3
40 more questions are waiting for you in MT Permit Practice Test 3. Get the additional practice you need to ace the real exam.
Practice Test 4
Push yourself with a bit more practice The fourthMT DMV Practice Permit Test offers even more practice test questions to help ensure your study session pays off.
Road Signs Test
It’s time to test your understanding of MT road signs. This practice test contains 25 questions covering each of the five types of traffic signs that you’ll find in the state.
50 random questions
MVD Test Simulator
Get a feel for the real exam before you visit your local MVD office. Designed to simulate the real test with randomized questions, no explanations, and new questions every time.
All 150 questions
Don’t schedule an appointment to take the real exam until you’ve tackled this practice test. 150 of the most challenging questions to date with your success in mind.
Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)
Motorcycle Test 1
Ready to pass the state motorcycle written test? Find out by taking our MT Motorcycle Practice Test 1 today. This test is just like the real one. Get started.
Motorcycle Test 2
How is your understanding of motorcycle operation? Find out by taking our MT Motorcycle Practice Test 2. It’s just the practice you need for the real test. Take it now.
Motorcycle Test 3
Before you take the big step of sitting for the Montana motorcycle written test, take our MT Motorcycle Practice Test 3 to make sure you are ready. Get started.
Motorcycle Test 4
The MT Motorcycle Practice Test 4 is the next addition to our series of practice tests that are designed to get you ready to earn your license. Take it now.
All 100 questions
Motorcycle Endurance Test
Prepare for the Montana motorcycle permit test with this comprehensive practice test featuring the largest number of questions we have for Montana. Test your knowledge and endurance now!
Montana MVD Handbook 2023
The Montana drivers handbook is a powerful study tool to help you begin preparing for the Montana permit or license test. Get your FREE copy here!
Montana DOR Motorcycle Handbook 2023
The Montana motorcycle manual is a powerful study aid to help you begin preparing for the MT motorcycle license test. Get your free copy here!
Montana Learner's Permit FAQ
Applying for Your MT License
What are the age requirements for getting started?
Teen drivers seeking to earn their Driver’s License in Montana must comply with the state’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program. The program includes four levels. Here are the age requirements for each level:
- 14 ½ years old – Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL) or Traffic Education Permit (TEP)
- 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
- Hold Learner’s Permit for 6 Months – Provisional License
- Hold Provisional License for 1 year or turn 18 – Full Driver’s License
What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Montana?
You must provide proof of identify, residency and authorized presence in the U.S. Here is a list of acceptable documents that you can submit.
Where do I file my MT driver’s license application?
The Montana Department of Justice (DOJ) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) handles driver licensing. Driver’s License Exam Stations are located throughout the state.
How can I contact my local office?
Call at 1-866-450-8034 or visit https://dojmt.gov/driving/driver-exam-stations/.
Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?
Montana requires those younger than 16 to take driver’s education in order to obtain their Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL).
What if I am new to Montana?
To transfer an existing out-of-state license to a Montana license, visit a local MT MVD office and provide proof of identity, residency and legal presence. You may also have to take a written test, driving test and vision test.
What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?
The Montana written test contains questions drawn from the content of its state Driver’s Manual. The questions cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving methods. Here is an example of content from the manual that might be tested for on the exam:
- You must yield the right-of-way to a police vehicle, fire engine, ambulance, or other emergency vehicle using a siren or air horn and a red or blue flashing light. Pull over to the right edge of the road or as near to the right as possible when you see or hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any direction.
- The faster your vehicle is going, the more distance it will take to turn, slow, or stop. For example, stopping at 60 mph does not take twice the distance as it takes at 30 mph, but over three times the distance. Driving safely means adjusting your speed to road and traffic conditions, how well you can see, and obeying speed limits.
How is the test formatted?
The Montana test is presented in multiple choice format.
Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?
No, all questions are drawn from the Montana Driver’s Manual and are designed to test your knowledge of the state’s traffic laws as well as safe driving procedures. None of the questions are expressly designed to “trick you.” If you study the manual thoroughly you should not be surprised by any of the questions on the test.
How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?
There are 33 questions on the Montana written test and you can miss up to six and still pass.
What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?
Study the Montana Driver’s Manual and use practice tests to gauge your retention of the material and to identify weak areas that you need to study more. Also, when studying the manual try to memorize numerical figures, such as lengths, distances and measurements as these are often tested for on the exam.
Where can I get a free Montana Driver’s Manual to study?
Here at this website we offer free Montana Driver’s Manuals.
How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?
There is no substitute for studying the Montana Driver’s Manual. Be sure to read it several times and study it several more. Also, take practice tests online to assess your knowledge and see what areas you are particularly strong in and which areas you are weak in. Then you can use this information to make better use of your study time.
What should I do the night before the test?
Take a practice test and try not to miss any questions. If you do miss a question, go back and review your driver’s manual. Then take another practice test. After the second practice test, be sure to get to bed early so that you are fresh and clear minded on test day. Also be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to your test so you are not feeling rushed which can negatively impact your performance.
Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?
Yes. Visit https://dojmt.gov/driving/appointments/ to schedule your appointment.
Where do I take the written test?
What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?
You must provide proof of identify, residency and authorized presence in the U.S. Here is a list of acceptable documents that you can bring with you. You will also need to show proof of driver’s education completion if you are 15 years old.
Who should accompany me to the written test?
A parent or legal guardian should accompany you.
Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?
Yes, you will need to pay a fee. Check with your local Driver’s License Exam Station for the exact amount.
What should I expect when I sit for the written test?
The Montana written test includes 33 questions covering traffic laws, road signs and safe or defensive driving. You will need to answer at least 27 of the questions correctly to pass. You cannot refer to notes or the driver’s manual while taking the test. Here is a practice test formatted like the real Montana test.
What happens after I pass the written test?
You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin practice driving. You need to complete 50 hours of driving practice in all, with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.
What happens if I fail the written test?
You can retake the test.
How soon can I retake the written test?
You can only take the written test once per day, so you can take it the next business day if you so choose. However, it would be wise to take some time to study to ensure your pass on your next attempt.
I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?
You are now required to log 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice. During this time, you can only drive with a parent, legal guardian or license driver age 18 or older. Also, of the 50 hours of driving practice that you need to accumulate, at least 10 of those hours need to be done at night.
How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?
You can apply for your provisional license once you have met the following requirements: you have held your Learner’s Permit for at least 6 months; you have had no traffic violations or alcohol/drug offenses in the past 6 months; and you have completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice.
Can I drive anywhere in Montana with my Learner’s Permit?
Yes, you can drive on any Montana public road or street as long as you are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver age 18 or older.
Should I practice driving solely during the day?
No, Montana requires that you also complete at least 10 hours of driving practice at night.
Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?
Yes, you must have a licensed driver age 18 or older in the front passenger seat.
What should I do if I have a lost Montana Learner’s Permit?
If your permit is lost or stolen, you may apply for a replacement at your local licensing station. You will be required to pay a fee and present the proper identification.
How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?
You should try to log as much driving practice time as possible and be sure to stay focused and attentive at all times when behind the wheel. In addition, read your driver manual for safe driving tips and listen to your supervising driver and try to institute their tips and suggestions as you drive.
Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?
You will need to know how to drive forward and backward smoothly and accurately; how to park on a hill and in a parking space; how to change lanes; how to drive in traffic; how to turn; how to stop and start; and more.
How can I simulate the driving test?
You should practice starting, stopping, making two and three-point turns, changing lanes, parking, backing up, obeying traffic signals and signs and entering and leaving an intersection as these are all commonly tested for on the driving test.
How do I schedule my driving test?
Visit https://dojmt.gov/driving/appointments/ to schedule your appointment.
Where do I take the driving test?
What should I bring to the driving test?
- Your valid Learner’s Permit
- Completed Driver’s License Application
- Proof of driving practice hours
- $5 for the yearly driver’s license fee
- A vehicle that you are familiar with and that is in proper working order
- Vehicle Registration and proof of insurance
Who should bring me to the driving test?
A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.
What will I be asked to do on the driving test?
You will be asked to complete a maneuver course that may include: three-point turns, starting and stopping, signaling, parking and more. You will also be asked to drive in traffic where you will need to display good defensive driving skills, such as checking your mirrors and following at a safe distance.
What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?
Among the most common reasons new drivers fail their driving test are: nerves; failing to listen to the examiner; not checking mirrors when turning or changing lanes; and simply not practicing enough for the test.
What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?
- Going over the speed limit
- Turning or backing up too fast and losing control the vehicle
- Following too closely to the car in front of you
- Failing to check the blind spot when changing lanes
- Having hands in an improper position on the steering wheel
What happens if I fail the driving test?
You can retake the test.
How soon can I retake the test?
You can retake it as soon as the next day if an appointment is available. However, your examiner may suggest you practice more before retaking the test.
I’ve passed the road test, now what?
You will receive your restricted/provisional license.
What restrictions come with a Montana license?
You may only drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. unless for an emergency, work, church or a parent-authorized reason.
You may only drive with one non-family member passenger under 18 years of age for the six months unless you are supervised by a licensed driver age 18 or older
After the first six months, you can have only three non-family passengers under 18 years of age unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 18 or older.
The provisional license becomes a full, unrestricted license when you turn 18 or have held the license for one year.
What are the insurance requirements for drivers in MT?
To protect drivers from the often overwhelming costs associated with traffic accidents, the state of Montana requires motor vehicle operators to carry at least the following minimum insurance coverage: $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury per person; $50,000 for bodily injury of multiple people; and $10,000 for property damage.
What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?
You can renew your Montana license up to six months before the expiration date. You can renew in person. Also residents in certain counties may be able to renew by mail.
If your license is lost or stolen, you may apply for a replacement at your local licensing station. You will be required to pay a $10 fee and present the proper identification.
Where can I renew my Montana driver’s license?
Most state residents must renew in person at a local licensing station. However, some counties allow residents to renew by mail. Contact your local licensing station for more information
Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?
Yes, you must take a vision test when renewing your license in person. The exam will test for acuity, depth perception and color blindness. To pass you must have at least 20/40 vision. You will be tested for vision in each eye separately and then both eyes together.
If you fail the test, you will be given Report Form DL-63 and asked to take it to an eye specialist.
How to Get Your Montana Learner’s Permit in 2023
Need to pass the Montana permit test but don’t know where to start? Follow this step-by-step guide to learn how to prepare for the test and become familiar with the process from getting your permit to license.
Similar to most other states, Montana uses a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) to help prepare young drivers for the road. The GDL is a multi-step process that gives you time to learn the rules of driving while still remaining under supervision. GDL programs were enacted in most states after they were shown to reduce traffic accidents due to young and inexperienced drivers.
The stages of the GDL process in Montana include:
- Learner’s License
- First-Year Restricted License
- Full-Privilege License
In this article, we will walk you through each stage of the process and teach you how to pass the Montana permit test so you can go on to earn your full license.
When you are 16 years old, you can apply for a Learner’s License (or learner’s permit) in the state of Montana. If you want to take an approved driver’s education course, you can apply for a Traffic Education Learner’s Permit at age 14 and a half, but that permit will expire when your course is completed. You will have to apply again for a regular Learner’s License at age 16.
Getting a permit in Montana means passing a written test (or permit test), which will determine how well you have learned driving rules and traffic signs.
Prepare by Studying in Advance
Don’t show up to take the test unprepared, or you might fail. Instead, take advantage of our free copy of the Montana Driver’s Handbook, reading all the information and devoting extra time to any chapters you have difficulty understanding. If you would like a physical copy of the handbook, visit the local offices of the Montana Department of Justice Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) to ask for one.
The Montana MVD Written Test — What You Need to Know
Can’t wait to get behind the wheel and enjoy your new freedom? Before the state can issue you a learner’s permit you need to pass the permit test at your local Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office. This written test is designed to verify your knowledge of traffic signals and signs, safe driving practices, and other important rules of the road.
Take Advantage of Practice Exams
Practice testing is a great way to prepare for the real exam. Our Montana practice permit test includes most of the subject matter you will find on the test, and after passing it a few times, you will know you are ready.
Visit Your Local MVD Offices and Do Your Testing
When you feel ready to take the permit test, visit the local MVD office and bring along:
- Proof of identity (a U.S. passport, birth certificate or citizenship documents).
- Your Social Security card.
- Proof of Montana residency (utility bills, employment records or school records).
- $5 in fees.
Take your time on the permit test and do your best to concentrate. You’ve studied hard for this, and as long as you remain relaxed, you are sure to do well.
After you pass, you will be given a vision exam to make sure you can see well enough to drive. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, make sure you have them with you.
Begin Your Driving Practice
To move on to the next step in the process, you will need to log 40 hours of daytime practice driving and 10 hours of practice after dark. If your parents can’t supervise you during this practice, a licensed driver age 18 or older who has been approved by your parents must join you.
When you have completed your practice driving and held your Learner’s License for at least six months, you can begin the next step, which involves passing a behind-the-wheel driving test. Visit the MVD offices and bring along:
- A signed Graduated Driver Licensing Parent/Legal Guardian Certification.
- Proof of identity, residency and legal presence.
Note: If, within the past six months of holding your permit, you received any traffic violations or alcohol-related convictions, you will not be able to take your driving test.
When you pass your driving test, there will still be some limits on your driving:
- Unless accompanied by a supervising driver, you can’t drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. There is an exception for driving to and from work or school.
- For the first six months, you can’t drive with more than one unrelated passenger under the age of 18.
- For the second six months, you can’t have more than three unrelated passengers under the age of 18.
When you are 18 years old, all of the restrictions will be removed from your license. Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.
The written permit test includes 33 multiple-choice questions. You must answer at least 27 correctly to pass.
The driving test will last approximately 20 minutes and will most likely include a parallel-parking test, so make sure you are aware of how to properly parallel park before you begin.