Oklahoma DPS Permit and Driver's License FAQ

  • Applying for Your OK License
  • Preparing for the OK Permit Test
  • Taking the OK Permit Test
  • Preparing for the OK Driving Test
  • Taking the OK Driving Test
  • Renewing Your OK License
Close all

Applying for Your OK License: Frequently Asked Questions

What are the age requirements for getting started?

In an effort to reduce the risks associated with being a first-time teenage driver in Oklahoma, the state has instituted a Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL). The program requires teen drivers to complete certain requirements before getting their full license. The program’s levels and age requirements are:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 1/2 years old
  • Intermediate Driver’s License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Oklahoma?

  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment or completion (if you are 15 ½ years old)
  • Proof of identity – both primary and secondary documents
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school or proof of GED enrollment or completion
  • $4 for application fee

Where do I file my OK driver’s license application?

You will file your application at a local Driver License Exam Site.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://wa1.dps.state.ok.us/dls/exam_sites.php for exam sites, days and hours of operation and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Drivers under 15 ½ are required by the Oklahoma Department of Safety to take driver’s education before applying for a Learner’s Permit. The course can be given by a commercial driving school, a secondary school or by a parent.

What if I am new to Oklahoma?

Teens with a valid driver’s license from another state can transfer their license to Oklahoma by going to a local Driver License Exam Site. You must present proper identification, pass a vision test and a written test and road test, if required.

Close all

Preparing for the OK Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The questions on the Oklahoma written knowledge test are taken from the state’s Driver’s Manual and cover Oklahoma traffic laws, safe driving practices, and drug and alcohol laws and effects. In addition, you should also study city or town traffic laws. Here are some examples of content from the driver’s manual that you might be tested on:

  • Signs that are orange in color indicate that you are nearing or have entered a work zone. Most of these signs are diamond shaped but they can also be rectangular
  • When preparing to enter or cross a highway that has no traffic signals or signs, you should always stop and yield to approaching traffic and proceed only when it is safe to do so

How is the test formatted?

The Oklahoma test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no trick questions. All questions are taken from the state driver’s manual. Some questions may be more difficult to answer than others but if you study the manual you should not find any to be a surprise or “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the Oklahoma test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should devote a great deal of study time to the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual which contains all the content that you will be required to know to pass the test. To verify your knowledge and direct your studies, you can also take online practice tests which will help you identify any weak areas that you need to study more.

Where can I get a free Oklahoma Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free manuals here at this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

Be sure to study the driver’s manual thoroughly. Pay close attention to numerical data such as distances, lengths and measurements. Also, be sure to study the chapter on alcohol and drugs and their laws and effects. You can take a practice test to assess your current understanding of Oklahoma’s driving laws and determine where you need to focus your studies.

What should I do the night before the test?

What you don’t want to have to do is stay up all night cramming because you didn’t study enough in the other days preceding the exam. That means you need to make plans now to study as much as possible, then you can do a light review on the night before the test and go to bed early to ensure you are rested, refreshed and at your best at test time.

Close all

Taking the OK Permit Test: Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local office to see if appointments are accepted and, if they are, it is recommended that you make one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local Driver License Exam Site.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Proof of driver’s ed enrollment or completion (if you are 15 ½ years old)
  • Proof of identity – both primary and secondary documents
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school or proof of GED enrollment or completion
  • $4 for application fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian, who will need to give their approval for you to receive your permit.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

There is a $4 permit fee. There is no fee to take the test initially. However, if you fail you will have to pay a $4 fee when you take it again.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

You will be given 50 questions covering Oklahoma traffic laws and alcohol and drug rules and effects. You will also see questions on safe driving practices. You will need to answer at least 40 of the questions correctly to pass. You cannot refer to the driver’s manual or any notes when taking the test. Please note: some offices only have one examiner so written tests may be given in the morning and driving tests in the afternoon. Contact your local office for more information.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin behind-the-wheel driving practice. You will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driver training if you chose a commercial or school provided driver’s ed course and 55 hours if you chose parent provided driver’s ed.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

Oklahoma law requires you to wait at least one day before retesting.

Close all

Preparing for the OK Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

With your Oklahoma Learner’s Permit you can now begin supervised driving practice with a licensed driver age 21 or over who has at least two years of driving experience. You must log 50 hours of supervised driving – or 55 if you chose parent-provided driver’s ed. You must also log at least 10 hours of your driving practice at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

Once you are 16 years of age and have held your Learner’s Permit for six months, you can apply for an intermediate license.

Can I drive anywhere in Oklahoma with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you can drive on any public Oklahoma road or street as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older with at least two years of driving experience.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, Oklahoma requires that you complete at least 10 hours of your supervised driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

You must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older who has at least two years of driving experience.

What should I do if I have a lost Oklahoma Learner’s Permit?

To replace your permit, go to a local Driver License Exam Site and present proper identification.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Be sure to complete all of your supervised driving practice and when driving be sure to listen to your supervising driver and try to implement his or her advice and suggestions. You should also continue reading the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual and apply the safe driving practices you learn there to your own driving.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should practice turning right and left, backing, parking on a hill, parallel parking and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should practice maneuvers that are commonly tested for on the exam, such as turning, stopping, accelerating and parking. You should also practice driving in traffic where you will need to obey traffic signs, signal, use your mirrors and drive defensively.

Close all

Taking the OK Driving Test: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I schedule my driving test?

Use the online scheduler, which now costs $3.75 to use or contact your local office directly.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local Driver License Exam Site.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Learner’s Permit.
  • Affidavit of Driver Training form DPS 300 DEI documenting your driving hours.
  • Primary and secondary identification
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of enrollment in secondary or vocational-technical school, diploma or GED
  • $33.50 for license fee and $4 for application fee.
  • A well-maintained vehicle
  • Vehicle registration and proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you as they will need to sign the Affidavit of Parent Authorization.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the driving test, the examiner will be determining if you can do all of the following: control your vehicle; properly perform basic maneuvers such as turning right and left, backing, parking on a hill and parallel parking; use signals; drive in the proper lane; understand and obey traffic signs, markings, and signals; properly apply the rules of right-of-way; and carefully observe and correctly respond to other vehicles and pedestrians.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Common reasons for failure include too many errors, dangerous driving, law violations, traffic collision or refusing to perform a maneuver.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Failing to come to a complete stop
  • Not checking mirrors when changing lanes
  • Speeding
  • Not using proper driving posture and hand position on the steering wheel
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

Following the test, the examiner will explain what you did wrong and will tell you when you can retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your intermediate license.

What restrictions come with an Oklahoma license?

You can drive without supervision only between the hours of 4:30 a.m. and 9 p.m. Also, you can only drive with one passenger who doesn’t live in your home.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in OK?

The state of Oklahoma follows the traditional “fault” or “tort” system when it comes to liability for a car accident. Basically, this means that whoever is at fault for an accident is liable for all personal injury and property damage.

Under Oklahoma law, minimum required coverage for drivers is:

  • $25,000 for the injury or death of one person
  • $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
  • $25,000 for property damage
Close all

Renewing Your OK License: Frequently Asked Questions

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

If you have a valid Oklahoma license, you can renew it up to one year before the expiration. Oklahoma licenses are valid for four year time periods and expire on the last day of the month you applied.

If your license is lost or stolen, go to a local Driver License Exam Site and present proper identification. You will need to pay a $20 fee for a duplicate license.

Where can I renew my Oklahoma driver’s license?

To renew your license you will need to visit a local Driver License Exam Site in person. There is a $33.50 renewal fee.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

No, you will not need to take a vision test unless your license has been expired for three years or more. The only vision test you will take is when you first get your license. If you fail the test, you may be required to wear glasses or contacts to drive safely.


The Oklahoma DPS Test — What You Need to Know

Getting a learner’s permit is a very important moment in one’s life. It offers you a new level of mobility, freedom, and independence that you’ve never had before.  But, before you can enjoy the open road, you must first pass the Oklahoma DPS written test.

Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety office requires that you pass the permit test before issuing you a learners permit. This written test contains questions in multiple-choice format designed to ensure you have the basic knowledge to be a safe driver.  You will be evaluated on your knowledge of the rules of the road, Oklahoma traffic laws, and various road and traffic signs.

Perform Your Best With OK DPS Practice Tests

Without proper preparation and practice, you’ll likely fail the permit test.  In fact, statistics have revealed that 2 out of every 3 test takers fail the exam.  The number one reason for failure is a lack of preparation.  A failed exam means more time spent at the DPS office as you have to retake the exam and in some cases pay a retest fee.  Who has time for that?

The good news is that we’re here to help.

We’ve put together a collection of important resources to help you begin preparing for the test. You’ll discover our sample Oklahoma practice permit tests allow you to quickly get the feedback you need.  The practice tests also provide you with a preview of what the real test format will look like.  We also offer the official Oklahoma Driver’s Manual for reference. And, if you need to get a motorcycle permit, you’ll find helpful resources here too.

Now it’s time for you to make an important choice. Do you “wing it” and take a chance failing the test? Or, do you take advantage of our study material?

It’s always better to be prepared.   So what are you waiting for?  Get started now!